Edward’s Menagerie :: Elephant

I mentioned in my last post that I had a few projects to share with you and this is the first.

Crochet elephantWhen I was at Yarndale last year I passed a gorgeous stall full of wool in natural tones and at the front of it all a display of lots of crochet animals hanging up. If you were there, did you see it too? The animals were from the pattern book Edward’s Menagerie.Edward's Menagerie pattern book

 

I didn’t actually buy a book from the show but I couldn’t stop thinking about it afterwards and how perfect it would be as present for my friend Emma who is very talented with her crochet hook at creating lovely toys. She made a beautiful cat for our Little Man when he was born::

Crochet catIsn’t it gorgeous?

So anyway, I found a copy of the book and ordered it for her Christmas present. When it arrived I realised how lovely all the patterns were and how brilliant the book was as all of the animals follow the same basic pattern of standard body and legs and then there are few changes for ears or to the faces and tails… I obviously dropped a lot of hints about this book as it turned up under the tree as one of my Christmas presents too!

I decided that I wanted to make one of the animals as a new baby present for my friend. The elephant. It seemed like a good starting point as the book said it was one of the more straightforward patterns.  As it turned out, Emma was also making an elephant as a new baby present for one of her friends too!

I started the pattern on the Easter weekend while we were away at The Bert’s mums and spent the following weeks finishing off and sewing together. I’d chosen a colour-changing ball of wool to make him from as I really liked the effect on a knitted monkey Little Man had been given by my father-in-law’s wife. What a smashing little chap, so dapper in his scarf::

Knitted monkey Knitted monkeyI soon realised that my wool wasn’t changing quickly enough to achieve the same effect as the monkey. I have to say on more than one occasion I considered starting again with less garish wool, especially when Emma sent me photos of her finished elephant – here he is, I told you she was a clever bean!

Grey crochet elephant

What an inquisitive little fellow!

I kept going though and mine turned out pretty well (if a little bright!)::

Crochet elephant Crochet elephant sitting side on Back of crochet elephant
The perfect size for little hands. I hope my friend’s new baby daughter thinks so!

The crochet was quite straightforward to make the elephant. The main thing is the counting to check you’ve got the right number of stitches in each round. However, the thought of sewing it together was quite daunting – I was pleased to be able to ask Emma for advice and to find this helpful video on YouTube.

I’m definitely going to make some of the other patterns in the book. But I’m not sure I would use such colourful wool again. It was a bit mental! I don’t think I’d use completely natural tones, but maybe something more harmonious. The project I’m working on at the moment is giving me the opportunity for that – I’m doing a blanket in these colours::

Balls of Stylecraft Special DK Balls of Stylecraft Special DK

It’s Stylecraft Special DK in cream, pale rose, grape, raspberry, silver, grey and graphite.

Ooh I just love them together. I’ll show you more of that project another day! Actually, I really have to get cracking on that blanket. There’s been way too much procrastination lately…

In the meantime, I hope you’re all well and life is good.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in amigurumi, crochet, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Edward’s Menagerie :: Elephant

  1. Susan says:

    I love your colourful elephant. Kids love colour so it will fit in perfectly.

  2. bekki says:

    Your elephant is great! A little one would love all of those colours. I’ve been eyeing this book, I’ve seen so many lovely things people have made from it. The colour palette you’ve chosen for your blanket is just beautiful!

  3. Jacquie says:

    the elephant is wonderful Jones and I love the colours you have chosen for your next project too. I remember the stand …very inspiring…but all that counting. I have a bit of a love/hate thing with ami.
    Jacquie x

  4. sandiart says:

    Hello Jones, love your elephant, too cute and will be a color fest for little eyes xxx

Leave a Reply

