A blanket for bunny

Isn’t it funny how you can have a new project list as long as your arm, a handful of projects that need finishing off but then another project comes along out of the blue and gets finished in no time at all? This is exactly what happened to me the weekend before Easter (I’m behind on the blogging, aren’t I! – actually I found most of this written in my drafts, so I thought I may as well finish it off before I share any more recent news with you…).

I went home for the weekend with our Little Man to my parents as my sister and nieces were over from Amsterdam and it was a good excuse to all get together. The Bert was in Madagascar and was only getting back on the Friday, so he didn’t join us, but instead could recover from his trip and crack on with some DIY that he wanted to do.

Anyway, we had a really lovely time just being together – we spent a lot of time sitting around, watching the littlies playing – my eldest niece will be 3 this summer, my little niece is 1 at the end of May and our near-toddler was 1 in Feb, so everyone was busy and on the move and trying to get involved. It was very sweet to see!

My parents still live in the house I came home from hospital to and I really love going back to visit and the familiarity of it all. In fact my bedroom still has lots of my things in it (sorry mum and dad!) and looks like the teenage me just popped out for a bit.

Back to the impromptu project… On the Friday night, I spotted a little bag of knitted squares in the kitchen and asked my mum what she was making. It turned out that the squares had been made by her Aunt, who sadly passed away last month, at the ripe age of 90-something. There were 11 squares in total, all knitted in this pale blue wool… They were a bit wobbly but definitely useable and pretty impressive given that her eyesight wasn’t that good towards the end. Mum said she wasn’t sure what to do with the squares, so I suggested we could make a little blanket for my eldest niece to play with. My sister said that sounded like a great idea as every night at bedtime she lines up all her bunnies next to her in her bed and they might like a little blanket to sleep under!

So we set to work. My sister chose the best of the squares, 9 in total, and mum sewed in all the ends while I crocheted them together. Dad oversaw proceedings in between dozing in the chair!

By the Saturday they were all joined and had a simple white border edging. Mum got out her wool stash and we asked little O what colour she’d like to see next on the blanket. ‘Purple. Purple for today and green for tomorrow.’ We weren’t entirely sure what that would entail(!), so stuck with a simple scallop border in the purple.

Crochet and knitted blanket for bunny ©The House of JonesBorder of bunny's blanket ©The House of JonesThe little blanket for bunny was finished!

Crochet blanket and bunny ©The House of JonesHe seemed quite happy with it!

Crochet blanket and bunny ©The House of JonesMy niece was quite excited when we showed her on the Sunday and we tucked bunny up for a little sleep on the floor and then on the sofa. So cute! And then, after a bit of persuasion, she lay down next to bunny for a pretend sleep under the blanket too!

Pretending to sleep ©The House of Jones

Although it was only a small and quick thing, it was lovely to be able to make it. I was glad mum had a big bag of wool and that I travel with my crochet hooks on me… I bet her Aunt would be really pleased to see her squares turned into something new. I wonder what she had planned for them?

Since that weekend, I’ve been busy on the crochet and have completed a present for my friend’s new baby that is due in the next couple of weeks, and I’ve made a lot of progress on a blanket for another friend that is expecting in May. I’m hoping to update you on these, and the project I’ve been making our son, soon!

Until then, have a happy week and hope the sun is shining with you,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Being an Auntie, crochet, family, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A blanket for bunny

  1. Jacquie says:

    That’s a lovely story Jones. I’m sure your mum’s Aunt would be thrilled to see her squares being played with and enjoyed by a young member of the family. And you did a great job with the border.
    Jacquie xxx

Leave a Reply

