De-Christmassing

On Sunday The Bert and I set about packing up Christmas – it was quite enjoyable actually, collecting up the festive bits and bobs from around the house and methodically taking the decorations off the tree and putting them back in their boxes.

The felt stars that were made for us a few years ago:

Felt star decoration ©The House of JonesThe little felt penguin decorations I made last year:

Penguin decoration ©The House of JonesOur little chinchilla-like decoration in honour of JB:

Jason decoration ©The House of JonesThe big fat robin that I have to wedge in the tree each year as it is too heavy to hang:

Fat robin decoration ©The House of JonesThe little owl that sits on the top of our tree: (we disagreed as to whether it should be a star or an angel so settled on this owl a few years ago!)

Owl tree-topper ©The House of JonesAnd this year’s new decoration: a big, jolly reindeer:

Big reindeer decoration ©The House of JonesThis year we bought an artificial Christmas tree. We felt quite sad to be missing out on the tradition of going to choose our tree – the last few years we’ve gone to a lovely little village where they have lots of trees to pick from and a big pole to measure them against so you know what size and price it is… but economically it made sense to go down the artificial route and I think we did a good job of getting one that looks fairly realistic. I missed the piney scent though.

It was tricky to do lots of decorating in the house this year as the builders were around until the week before Christmas – I didn’t want to get lots of decorations up only to find they were in the way of what they were doing. But included in the jobs the workmen were doing was fitting a lovely oak beam mantlepiece and some built-in shelving in the alcove alongside.

I was so pleased that these were done in good time before Christmas – it created such a lovely focal point in the room to have a festive fireplace. Want to see? Please ignore the little bit of painting we’ve got left to do on the shelves… which is also why there are only cards on the shelving rather than proper ‘things’ – once we’ve painted we’ll be filling them with books and pretty things.

Christmas mantlepiece ©The House of JonesOne day we’ll get round to installing a real log-burner, but for now with the decorative cast iron grate it just looks so lovely! Yes, I am completely in love with our new mantlepiece – and it really looked so lovely with all the festive decorations on it.

The ice cream bowls filled with little treats:

Festive bon-bons ©The House of JonesThe cork reindeer – this was added after Christmas. I received the pins to make him in my stocking:

Christmas cork reindeer ©The House of JonesFestive candles – another post-Christmas addition; a thoughtful present from my car share friend:

Festive candles ©The House of JonesYes, it really was so lovely having a mantlepiece again!

Festive decorations ©The House of JonesIt looked even prettier in the evening with the candles lit and the lights low.

Now that Christmas is over, I’ve changed the decorations over to a wintry white and silver colour scheme. I’ve left the Moroccan-style fairy lights up (as I think they are all year rather than festive) and been busy gathering wintry bits from around the house. I don’t feel that I’m quite there yet, I might need a trip into town on Saturday to see if the sales or charity shops have anything that could complete my display!

Winter white mantlepiece ©The House of Jones Winter white decorations ©The House of Jones White cyclamen ©The House of JonesI found a spot for my little, white cyclamen :o)

I’m really liking the wintery white. I’ve decided not to jump straight into the spring bulbs this year – I LOVE daffodils and tulips and hyacinths and all the spring colours, but it feels a bit soon. Yes, I think the white and silver is good!

I’ve spent a long time looking at our mantlepiece in recent weeks. It’s a reminder of how far we’ve come with the house. There was a dated electric fire on this wall when we bought the place with some dark wood shelves either side::

Our lounge before the renovations ©The House of Jones

The transformation once we’d replastered, painted, new skirting boards, central heating and carpet etc was amazing::

Lounge transformation ©The House of JonesBut I think the shelving and the mantlepiece really finishes things off! You’ll be pleased to know we’ve painted those pipes now too! Ooh this has made me want to share more of our renovations – maybe I will get round to writing about them this year…

Anyway, with Christmas boxed away, it was time to get back to normality and on Monday I went back to work. I’m finding it a bit of a struggle after two weeks off over Christmas – mainly the early starts and lack of afternoon naps. I got quite good at lying in and stealing 40 winks while I was on holiday! Still, I can’t really complain – I finish work next Thursday, so I’m only back at work for nine days – and only five to go. Not that I’m counting…!

I hope that you’re settling well into 2014 and are having a lovely week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Christmas, General chit chat, Home, owl, Renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to De-Christmassing

  1. Patch says:

    You are right, it’s a huge improvement. Hopefully one day I will be able to do a similar post about my living room!! One day….

  2. Jacquie says:

    Such a lovely post Jones. Your home is looking wonderful and those little touches are perfect.
    Take it easy.
    Jacquie x

  3. Mum says:

    Your house is now becoming a home. Lovely mantlepiece and great decorations. I’ve gone for a white and winter theme for January so making it a festive rather than a dreary first month.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  4. Bev says:

    Your livingroom is charming and so cheery! It looks like the perfect place to spend quiet time during a really dreary January day!

Leave a Reply

