Rainy-day baking

The Bert has gone fishing today. I’m not entirely sure what appeals about standing out in the rain all day, but he seems to enjoy it and has promised to come back with trout to fill the freezer. Yum!

With The Bert out being hunter-gatherer, I’ve had the day to myself. I’ve been quite busy: done the washing, bins, been to the supermarket, popped into town – where I bought this lovely little white cyclamen (I think they are quite hard to keep alive? any tips?)…

White cyclamen ©The House of Jones…and had a scrummy late lunch of poached eggs on toast::

Poached eggs on toast ©The House of JonesYes, I’ve been carrying my sweet little cyclamen around with me wherever I go :o)

And I’ve also done a bit of baking.

I found this recipe for Pistachio Flapjacks in the latest issue of Easy Cook magazine (also just found it on the Good Food website) – I’m usually very fussy about my flapjacks and only really like the plain ones I make from an old family recipe (which I keep top secret!), but these sounded too good not to try. Plus as well as the pistachios they contain dried apricots, which my midwife told me are a good source of iron. Well, I’d better make them pronto then! (I’m hoping they have the same iron-lending tendencies once coated in butter and sugar and cooked in the oven?!).

Here they are in the making… om nom nom… Just look at the colour of the pistachios::

Chopped pistachios ©The House of JonesAnd the apricots::

Chopped dried apricots ©The House of JonesEven the dried fruit-oat mix looks tempting::

Oats and dried fruit mix ©The House of JonesEspecially with the butter and sugar mix stirred in::

Pistachio flapjack mix ©The House of JonesAnd here they are, ready to go into the oven::

Pistachio flapjacks ready to bake ©The House of JonesOhhh hello!

If you’d like to give them a go, then I’ve typed the recipe out here for you::

Pistachio flapjacks

Ingredients

  • 140g butter
  • 140g soft brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp runny honey
  • 175g rolled oats
  • 75g chopped pistachios
  • 140g dried, chopped apricots

Method

  1. Put the butter, soft brown sugar and honey in a small pan and heat gently until melted.
  2. Tip the oats, pistachios and dried apricots into a medium bowl and mix well.
  3. Pour over the melted butter mixture and stir to combine.
  4. Transfer to a greased and lined 20cm x 20cm tin and cook at fan 140C/conventional oven 160C for 35-40 minutes.
  5. Remove and cool in the tin, then cut into 16 slices.

Pistachio flapjacks ©The House of JonesGratuitous close-up, coming up…

Close up of pistachio flapjacks ©The House of JonesOhhhh don’t they look delicious – the perfect rainy-day pick-me-up! I’m supposed to wait until they are cool before cutting (I can see why, as they started breaking apart after these initial cuts)… so I guess I’d better wait for tasting too. I will let you know what I think! Could this be the recipe to tempt me away from my fail-safe family favourite?

Happy baking,

Jones x

Edited to add:: I’ve sampled two of these now (you can’t really get a sense from just one, and there’s the goodness of the apricots to yield, don’t forget) and they really are very tasty! I can recommend. Apparently they are good post-fishing fodder too! (The Bert has returned from a successful day – 2 fish caught, 40 (EEK! FORTY!) fillets of trout now in the freezer! please don’t let there be a power cut…)

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, General chit chat, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rainy-day baking

  1. Jacquie says:

    These look really good Jones, I fancy a spot of easy baking now :0)
    Jacquie x

  2. Mum says:

    Thank you for the recipe. It’s a ‘will try’ and is added to my recipe file.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  3. RedSetter says:

    That looks loved but I am still licking my lips at the perfect poached eggs which are my holy grail food.

  4. Patch says:

    They look good. How were they on the chewy/crumbly front? I am in search of the perfect flapjack recipe. Send that Bert round here, there’s lots of room in my freezer 😉

    • I’ve just eaten another to remind myself 😉 They are definitely chewy, not crumbly and the pistachios add a bit of crunch. I prefer the texture of my usual recipe (a crunchier chewiness) but these are pretty darned good! Worth a go!
      Jones x

  5. sue says:

    Recipe sounds yummy thank you for sharing x

  6. Angie says:

    You have a real provider for a husband. But isn’t it also great when once in a while we have the day for ouselves? I’d love to try and make your recipee as I ‘m head over heels for pistachios.

  7. Bev says:

    Looks delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

