Festive baking

Ahoy! Thanks for the lovely comments on my last post – it’s a super exciting time, and I’m so pleased to be able to share my news with you at last. The countdown is certainly on now, and we’re busy here readying the house for the new arrival. The list of jobs is endless!

Anyway, all work and no play would be no fun, especially at this time of year. So the other day, while The Bert was sanding our new shelves in the linen cupboard, I set about a bit of festive baking. We were meeting up with friends in the afternoon for a short walk (stopping at the pub part-way) and so I thought a little snackeroo was needed for during our pub-pit-stop.

I made a batch of gingerbread biscuits last Christmas – the recipe wasn’t great though, nor was the flavour of the final biccies (not that we got to try many of them as mother-in-law’s dog ate most of them when our backs were turned!), so I was delighted when the lovely Kate posted her recipe for no-spread gingerbread (scroll to the bottom for the recipe). Super easy – in fact the most difficult part of the recipe was leaving the dough to cool and resisting eating it all!

Any excuse to use my festive cutters… and my clever rolling pin by Joseph Joseph that means you can roll to an even thickness… oh and my Twelve Days of Christmas tin to store them in!

Twelve Days of Christmas tin ©The House of JonesBut the fun bit about biscuits is in the icing. I kept it simple using white icing and colourful chocolate beans::

Festive biscuits ©The House of JonesWe’d eaten quite a few of the biscuits by the time I remembered to take a photo – all of the snowflake ones had gone already! Yum, yum, yum!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Christmas, Cooking, General chit chat, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Festive baking

  1. Mum says:

    Thank you for the recipe. I’ll have a go at these. Hope the walk went well.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, I love the biscuits and I love your twelve days of Christmas tin. So glad you are keeping well.
    Jacquie x

  3. Lovely tin for storing Christmas cookies in, not that they appear to need storing for long!

Leave a Reply

