My trip to Yarndale – part two

I hope you don’t mind me continuing my look back at the Yarndale weekend? I know it was a long time ago (and I while since my first post on the subject) but I just want to capture the joy of the weekend. Hopefully it is a nice reminder to those of you who were able to go too!

You can read the first part of my trip here, and here’s what we got up to on the Sunday…

After our busy day at Yarndale on Saturday afternoon, we decided we would take things a bit more leisurely on the Sunday. A short pootle in the town before heading home at lunchtime-ish.

Skipton canal ©The House of JonesThat gave us half a day to take in Skipton – we started by strolling through town and along the canal. I loved this little ice-cream boat:

Ice cream boat ©The House of JonesI think we took a wrong turn at some point as we quickly found ourselves not going in the expected direction. But it was lucky in many ways as we found ourselves outside Coopers – the location for Lucy & Tracy‘s Studio. We made a mental note to come back – for now we were off to enjoy some of the yarnwalk and the park.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wonder how many times these little cuties got snapped over the course of the weekend? So adorable, and a sign that we were in the right place.

Yarndale yarnwalk ©The House of JonesIt was great walking along and seeing bits and bobs of crochet adorning the fences and lamp-posts. It made me want to do a little yarnbomb of my own some time!

Yarndale yarnwalk ©The House of JonesComing into the park was just lovely – the playground so familiar to me from Heather‘s posts about her trips with her little boy.

Yarnbombing in the park ©The House of JonesWe enjoyed a good little mooch around the park. Veering off and back into town rather than following the Yarnwalk all the way to the Auction Mart.

Our next stop was Coopers cafe. Although it hadn’t been a strenuous morning by any means, we were ready for a little sit down and a bit of cake. How could we resist when they all looked so tempting!

Coopers cafe cake selection ©The House of JonesOh and a hot chocolate! A deluxe with cream and mallows and general lashings of deliciousness!

A Coopers hot chocolate ©The House of JonesThere was even time for a spot of hooky – I continued work on my multi-coloured granny stripe baby blanket:

Work on the blanket ©The House of JonesWith our batteries recharged and crochet neatly packed away, we headed up the stairs to take a peek inside the Studio. I have loved reading the Studio story – how they found it, all the work they put into sanding and painting and then finally filling with their bits and bobs. And all their hard work is definitely worth it – a beautiful place to come and craft a while… here is Lucy’s end – her bright colour popping from every corner:

The Studio ©The House of Jones The Studio ©The House of Jones The Studio ©The House of JonesNot forgetting the original Attic24 banner…

The Studio ©The House of Jones And here is Tracy’s end, softer colours but such beautiful creations:

The Studio ©The House of Jones The Studio ©The House of JonesThe Adorable Mr Fox actually made the journey home with us – my friend just couldn’t resist him!

The Adorable Mr Fox ©The House of JonesI wish I lived a bit nearer to come and enjoy some of the courses they’re running in The Studio. What a wonderful place to come and learn new things.

Our look around The Studio brought our weekend road trip to an end. It was going to take most of the afternoon to get home so with a final wander through town we said goodbye to the canal…

Skipton canal ©The House of Jones…and started our return journey. Our bellies full of food, our bags full of goodies and our heads full of ideas.

Yarndale, you were wonderful. Thank you to everyone who worked so hard to make it happen.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Craft, crochet, General chit chat, Holidays, knitting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My trip to Yarndale – part two

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, how lovely to see your photos from Yarndale Sunday :0)
    It was such a feel good event wasn’t it . Lucy says next time she will have a bloggy meet up area…..sounds like a great idea to me.
    Still wondering what your news is.
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

