52 weeks of happy (33/52) – The Devon edition

Firstly, I just want to say a big THanK YoU for the lovely comments on my baby boy granny patchwork blanket. They made my day! Thank you lovelies, it’s so lovely to hear from you and receive such kind words!

Last week’s happy moments are all from this weekend just gone. We had a lovely weekend down in Devon, joining my parents, sister, brother-in-law and niece for the end of their week away.

1. Sea views

Sea views from the balcony ©The House of JonesThey had a lovely house for the week, with views out to sea and a ten minute walk to the beach. The house was an upside-down one, with bedrooms on the ground floor and living space above – making the most of the sea view. I loved this view – there’s something so lovely about a sea view. I think I’d like to live by the sea one day.

Devon beach view ©The House of Jones

2. Plymouth aquarium

Fish at Plymouth aquarium ©The House of JonesOn Saturday we spent the morning and lunch at Saltram, a National Trust house. I really loved the house and the garden – although I did need the ‘mouse hunt’ children’s quiz to power me round the house!

In the afternoon we went to the aquarium in Plymouth. I absolutely LOVE going around aquariums, looking at all the fish and sea creatures and my niece loved it too. She is 14 months now and able to toddle along quite happily by herself. She babbles a lot to herself but has perfected ‘ohh wowww’ and says it at just the right moment, which makes me think she knows what she is saying. There was a lot of ‘ohh wowwww’-ing as we went around and pointing at the fish too. It was ever so sweet.

Plymouth marina ©The House of Jones

3. Family time

Killerton garden ©The House of JonesOne of the best things about this weekend was being all together. With my sister living in Holland we don’t all get together too often (the last time was in April), so it was really great to be able to have this family time away, exploring new places.

This picture was taken at Killerton, another National Trust house (we’ve done a lot of NT visits in recent weeks!). It’s a really lovely property – lots to see downstairs, and a costume exhibition on upstairs. We had such a happy time playing garden games on the lawn.

4. Time with my niece

The Bert and my niece looking over Bantham ©The House of JonesOne of my top happies from the weekend was spending time with my niece. She is such a little character now that she is babbling and toddling – it is such a joy to see her grow. She has learned lots of tricks and funny things since I last saw her for her birthday in June and she really loves playing up to a crowd. We were all in hysterics on Saturday night watching her trying some icecream – the more we laughed the more she giggled which just set everyone off again!

On Sunday morning while the rest tidied and cleaned up the house, The Bert and I took little Owl out for a walk. We went down the little lane, across the golf course and down to the beach before following the coastal path around and back to the house again.

The picture above is one of my favourites from the whole weekend: a gorgeous shot of two of my favourite people, both admiring the view below. I love it.

Actually, the view that they’re looking out to might look a little familiar to you. Here it is again a bit zoomed in…

The view across Bantham ©The House of JonesThe house we had was very close to where we spent our Devon jolly on May bank holiday. It’s the view down to Bantham, such a gorgeous view. Here it is back in May from down near the beach:

Delightful Devon © The House of JonesWhat a lovely weekend! It really was such a happy jaunt, lots of good memories of fun, family time.

I hope you’ve had a happy week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Being an Auntie, Day trips, Devon, General chit chat, Holidays, The great outdoors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 52 weeks of happy (33/52) – The Devon edition

  1. Looks absolutely gorgeous, weather look good too. It so lovely when you can gather family together.

Leave a Reply

