Baby boy granny patchwork blanket – ta dah!

I thought we’d have a bit of crochet hooky talk today to finally reveal my baby boy granny patchwork blanket in all its glory!

Baby boy granny patchwork blanket ©The House of JonesI absolutely loved working on this blanket. I get that giddy excitement when I start a new project – working out what pattern I might use, what colours, fitting in working on it at every opportunity… and this blanket was no different.

This was a very special blanket as it was a present for one of my dear friends. We met while on our gap year in the Philippines – we were diving every day for three months surveying coral reefs and have been friends ever since. Last year we were bridesmaids at each others weddings and although we have never lived that near to each other (she now lives in Edinburgh while I’m in Gloucestershire) it has never mattered as we text and speak often and meet up when we can!

Emsie is a fellow hooker, so I knew this blanket had to be my finest work.

I chose to use Stylecraft Special DK for this blanket as I loved working with it for my last blanket. The colours I used were aster, cloud blue, sherbet and cream for the squares and midnight to join.

Stylecraft Special DK ©The House of JonesOoh actually, those aren’t quite the colours I used as the first in the pic is Denim, and I used Aster – anyway, you get the idea!

So I started off by making a regular granny square – quite a lot of them actually! 48 to be precise. They worked up fairly quickly, and my stack steadily grew:

Crochet granny squares in blues ©The House of JonesWorking granny squares is quite therapeutic, it was as though my hook knew what to do and I settled into the rhythmic hooking, working four or five squares a night.

The next stage was laying them out into some kind of random order. I found with my last granny patchwork blanket that random is not as easy as random sounds!

Laying out the squares ©The House of JonesAt this stage I thought about joining them as they were, without the midnight blue. But I didn’t want this to be a really babyish blanket. The only thing for it was to give the midnight a go, and if I really didn’t like it then I could just unravel and make some extra squares!

Starting to join-as-you-go ©The House of Jones Join-as-you-go ©The House of JonesAs it turned out, I liked of the midnight a lot! It seems to bring all the colours together with impact. Would you have used the midnight or joined as they were?

I decided to use the join-as-you-go method to join the squares together, following Lucy’s excellent instructions. I thought it made the most sense since I was edging each square with the dark blue and I liked the effect of it too.

So, anyway, would you like a look? I know we’ve had a sneak peak above, but maybe it’s time for a REAL look, a laid-out-on-the-ground-look-from-above look? Ok then… Ta dah!!

Baby boy granny patchwork blanket ©The House of JonesOoh, I like it! I like it a LOT!

The Edge is always a big consideration for a blanket – it ties everything together and finishes it off and I spent the usual long amount of time deciding what to do. In the end I kept it simple, but I’m really pleased with how it turned out:

The blanket edge ©The House of JonesThree rows of treble clusters: 1 cloud blue, 2 cream. Then 2 rows of dc in aster and then midnight. Does the job perfectly!

Yes, I’m very pleased with this blanket. A job well done, if I say so myself!

Close up of baby boy crochet blanket ©The House of Jones Crumpled baby boy crochet blanket ©The House of Jones Baby boy crochet blanket draped over a chair ©The House of Jones Folded baby boy crochet blanket ©The House of Jones Baby boy granny patchwork crochet blanket ©The House of JonesMy usual finishing touch::

Baby boy blanket with label ©The House of JonesAnd onto the next one! Last week I started making a granny stripe baby blanket for another friend who is expecting a baby at the end of this month. So far, so good!

Crochet stripes ©The House ofJonesYou can see my other finished blankets here: Elmer-Inspired Granny Patchwork Baby Blanket | Baby Boy Blanket | Baby Girl Blanket

Happy hooking!

Jones x

PS. While I remember – the rough dimensions of this blanket were 33″ x 25″. It comprised 48 squares, made in 5 rounds on a 4mm hook.

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, General chit chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby boy granny patchwork blanket – ta dah!

  1. I think it looks amazing, well done! I can’t believe how different the pattern looks once you have added the midnight blue to join. I think it really makes it. Having just started to crochet I can really appreciate the huge amount of work you have put in. I am yet to produce two squares of the same size…

  2. A gorgeous blanket, I love the midnight blue around the squares on the inside, it makes it look like stained glass.

  3. Christine says:

    The blanket is beautiful! The dark blue really looks good. I am sure your friend will be thrilled with it!

  4. Chloe says:

    Your post makes me want to take up crocheting! I am the least dexterous person I know, so results could be interesting! The blanket looks lovely x

  5. Mum says:

    Absolutely superb. Well done. It’s a beautiful present for baby.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  6. Zelna says:

    Wow! This is truly stunning. I have always been a bit apprehensive to use anything darker than grey or denim in a baby blanket. This blanket has changed my mind completely – I am inspired to make something a bit braver now! I’m sure that this blanket is going to become a treasured possession!

  7. Sue says:

    I adore your blanket it’s perfect, I’m using stylecraft for my latest blanket it’s so nice to work with and so economical (think we have the same chair – is it a pale green cotton cover from Ikea?)
    Sue xxx

Leave a Reply

