52 weeks of happy (31 and 32/52)

Hi lovelies! Hope that you’re enjoying the late summer days and return of good weather this last week. I’ve been on a little jolly again hence I’m behind on last week’s happies. I thought I’d do both weeks in one post, if that’s ok with you?

Right, let’s get to it…

31/52

52 weeks of happy 31/52 ©The House of Jones1. Cute crochet balls: Felt a little sad to say good bye to these cuties – little crochet balls for tiny hands to play with! Another little present for my friend’s new baby boy, in matching colours to the baby boy granny patchwork blanket that I made him. They are super quick to make, quite addictive actually!

2. Parceling up my Yarndale bunting: Finally got round to steam blocking my bunting triangles and parceling them up ready to send to Lucy. I wish I’d known about the steam blocking technique before I stood in the rain with my other bunting triangles as an attempt to spritz them! Ooh that reminds me, I’ve still not done anything with those… hmm.

3. Yarndale excitement: Did I tell you that I’m going to Yarndale? The Yarndale excitement continued week before last as my friend and I started talking about logistics for the 450mile round trip – we’ve already booked a B&B for the weekend and I am so looking forward to our woolly adventure!

4. Great British Bake Off: I absolutely love this show! and am so happy it’s back on our screens again. My friend has devised a Bake Off Bingo game for the series – we’ve got different boards and buzz words to listen out for such as ‘good bake’, ‘raise my game’, ‘curdled’, ‘moist’ and of course bonus points for ‘soggy bottom’. Love it! I don’t think I’ve ever concentrated so hard to what’s being said – or been so delighted that one of their creations has been described as ‘disgusting’ or a ‘disaster’!

32/52 – Our house-sitting holiday

We’ve spent the last week house-sitting for some friends to look after their geese and ducks while they enjoyed a holiday in France. Ooh and what a lovely week! They have a gorgeous upside-down barn house (bedrooms below, living space above) just outside of Chepstow, which gave us plenty of day tripping opportunities in and around Monmouthshire and the Wye Valley and South Wales. Here are my highlights from our week away:

1. Feathered friends

Feathered friends ©The House of JonesHere are our feathered friends for the week. They were funny little things, honking as soon as they saw us! I will admit I am not a massive fan of birds so The Bert was chief geese and duck whisperer while I provided occasional encouragement from the sidelines.

2. Tredegar House

Tredegar House ©The House of JonesWe spent one day visiting Tredegar House, a National Trust house, near Newport. Actually it’s much more than a house, with three large walled gardens (complete with garden games to play on the lawns!) and 90 acres of parkland. A really great day out – the brilliant weather helped!

I was quite jealous of the ginormous sunflowers in the garden – put our efforts to shame!

Giant sunflowers ©The House of Jones3. Symonds Yat

View across the Wye Valley ©The House of JonesOn another day we drove to Symonds Yat and enjoyed a brisk walk up to the rock which had fantastic views of the Wye Valley below. After a lot of instruction from a very patient man and a powerful binocular, I also managed to see a peregrine falcon nesting on the rocks to the side of the valley. The walk down to the village and the Saracens Head pub was really beautiful – more enjoyable on the way down than on the steep climb back when our bellies were full with pub lunch!

4. A new crochet project

Crochet stripes ©The House ofJonesI took my Stylecraft Special DK on holiday with us and began my latest crochet project. Another baby blanket – my friends are popping them out at the moment! I’ve got until the end of September to finish this one and am really enjoying the granny stripe pattern – I’d forgotten how much quicker it is than making and joining squares!

Ooh what a happy week! Other highlights included visiting friends and seeing all the work on their new house, a day of shopping in Cardiff (and reminiscing about old uni haunts), the Monmouthshire Show – which had proper baking, craft, flower arranging and vegetable growing competitions, and celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary! Wow that year went quickly…

I hope you’ve had a happy couple of weeks,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, crochet, Day trips, Holidays, The great outdoors, Wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (31 and 32/52)

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, love your happy things. Your photo of the geese is gorgeous, but I’m scared of them too…they can be quite aggressive some times.
    Great to hear you are going to Yarndale. I’m really hoping to make it too, would be lovely to see you there.
    Jacquie x

  2. As always great pics, sounds and looks like you had a great break house sitting. I am hoping to go to Yarndale too, I get the feeling that many of us will be wandering around and not know that we already kind of know each other. Do you think we should all make badges with our blog names on so we can introduce ourselves if we recognise a name?

  3. Sue says:

    I am still laughing at your Bake off Bingo game – I so want to join in. I often played the same kind of game with work friends at meetings – we would almost fall off our chairs when people said – joined up thinking, I’ll take that on board, or think we are on the same page etc
    love Sue xxx

Leave a Reply

