Banana cake

I thought I’d share with you today the recipe for this scrummy banana cake/banana loaf that I featured in last week’s happies.

Banana cake ©The House of JonesI’ve made three (!) of these in the last month and they always turn out well. The recipe is from nibb’lous and you can find it here – I’ve typed it out below along with some additions:

Ingredients:

  • 4oz butter or margarine
  • 6oz sugar (granulated, caster, or mix in some demerara, whatever you have to hand)
  • 8oz self raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 large or 3 medium, very ripe bananas

I also like to add

  • a splash of milk
  • squirt of golden syrup (about 1 tbsp)
  • shake of ground cinnamon

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 180C
  2. Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin
  3. Mash the bananas with a sturdy fork
  4. In a separate bowl, cream the butter and sugar together and mix in the eggs
  5. Then mix in the mashed bananas
  6. Mix in the flour
  7. Scrape into the loaf tin and bake for 40 minutes then lower the temperature to 150C and cook for a further 30 minutes
  8. Turn out on a rack and let cool before eating (if you can wait!)

Banana cake tea party ©The House of JonesLike I said, easy peasy! and for once the cooking times on this are pretty spot on. I cook mine in a fan oven on the middle shelf.

Enjoy!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Banana cake

  1. Christine says:

    Thanks for this recipe, the cake looks delicious. I will try it soon, I have some ripe bananas in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

