52 weeks of happy (26, 27 and 28/52)

Afternoon! So, it appears that three weeks have gone by and I hadn’t realised! Oopsie! I’m playing catch up a bit, so here are my happy things from the last few weeks:

26/52

52 weeks of happy 26/52 ©The House of Jones1. Sweet scones – I made these for my boss’ last day and we served them with jam and clotted cream. Yum! I was really pleased with how they turned out.

2. Passiflora – The climber by our front door finally flowered! The first time since we moved in, it was a lovely surprise. My friend tells me that it is a passion flower (passiflora). So pretty!

3. Posy of daisies – Bit of a garden theme from this week, but I just loved the colours of these cosmos daisies. My parents gave us them last time they came to visit – I’m sure they were both the same when we got them, but one plant has the slightly darker flower and it makes a lovely combo.

4. Sweet peas – The sweet peas I was given for my birthday also came into flower that week. I’ve been cutting them daily to promote more flowers. Ooh they’re one of my faves!

27/52

52 weeks of happy 27/52 ©The House of Jones1. Chocolate cupcakes – My colleague left the week after my boss (I’m now a team of one, until the restructure sorts itself out) so I made these chocolate cupcakes for her farewell tea party. I’ve made similar chocolate cakes before (see them here), but I followed a different recipe for these and they really were delicious. Everyone at work was very complimentary!

2. Party on – Last weekend we had a great time celebrating our friends’ 1st wedding anniversary at a big party in West Sussex. I love getting together with the gang! I wore this black and white dress – and even wore heals for the occasion!

3. At the car wash – hehehe, I took the car through the car wash! First time ever! I know it is not very good on water and I could just wash it myself at home, but given that this is the first time in over a year that I have even washed the car, I think it was ok. Slightly terrifying when the roly roly bristles come at you over the bonnet, but I survived!

4. Laying out squares – with all the squares for my latest blanket finished, I laid them out ready to join. I love this bit! Although, I joined them a little differently this time. All will be revealed, but not yet…

28/52

52 weeks of happy 28/52 ©The House of Jones1. Wool delivery – I needed just one more ball of wool to finish my blanket, so bought a couple of extra to help justify the P&P! Stylecraft Special DK in cream, midnight, pomegranate and white.

2. I scream for ice cream – The Bert’s dad and Monique were visiting us this weekend and we went on a little jaunt yesterday afternoon to the Cotswold villages – loved this sign for ice cream. I didn’t have one, but butter crunch would have got my vote! You?

3. Chocolate box cottages – Nothing like dreaming of a village life… this beautiful cottage in Lower Slaughter caught my eye. Picture perfect.

4. Banana cake – A bit more baking this weekend – this time a banana cake to use up some that had gone past their best. The Bert reckons I leave them to go off deliberately! I’ll share the recipe for this one in another post – it’s a good one, super easy.

Oof bit of a mad rush through those… it’s been a good couple of weeks though! Lovely to look back. It’s been a busy couple of weeks too, so it’s nice to have this afternoon to catch up a bit. Our visitors are on their way home, The Bert is down at the river and so I’ve got a bit of time to myself. I’m going to stick the kettle on, cut a slice of banana cake and see what you’ve all been up to!

I hope you’ve had a happy few weeks,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, baking, Cooking, crochet, cupcakes, Day trips, Flowers, Garden, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (26, 27 and 28/52)

  1. Sounds and looks like a great time! Liking your passion flower too!

  2. Mum says:

    Chocolate for me please.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  3. Kate says:

    Lovely post! We were married in Lower Slaughter and got to pretend that it was our home for the weekend – just beautiful 🙂 Lucky you to have a passion flower too; I’ve tried growing them to no avail; I think they’re very picky about where they choose to thrive. Lovely to have you back online!

    • Ooh how lovely to be married there! It is so beautiful! I think neglect has been the answer to our passion flower – it grows out of a crack, it’s a wonder it survives!! Sounds like we have struck it lucky 🙂
      Jones x

  4. Pingback: Banana cake | The House of Jones

Leave a comment