52 weeks of happy (25/52)

Hiya,

Just a quick one from me today to share this week’s happies:

1. Posy of blues

Californian bluebells ©The House of JonesI bought these super cute flowers in Tesco for £1.50 – I think they were called Californian bluebells? They are so lovely, I move them from room to room. They are also extremely thirsty – especially in this heat. I am topping up the vase every day!

2. Crochet squares

Crochet granny squares in blues ©The House of JonesEek! I’ve said too much…

3. Saturday pancakes

Saturday breakfast pancakes ©The House of JonesOh yes, they were a real highlight of my week. Having our home-grown strawberries with them was a real bonus. (Follow the recipe to make your own American pancakes)

4. Afternoon with the Royals

Royal polo ©The House of JonesWe went along to Cirencester Polo Club on Sunday to watch a bit of polo. I don’t really know the rules (all I know is that it is like croquet on horseback and that each bit of the game is called a chukka), but it sure makes for a pleasant afternoon to pack a picnic and sit in the sunshine and spectate. A bit like watching cricket I think – I only know basic rules for that too. But it doesn’t seem to matter as long as you do polite applause sporadically during the afternoon. Anyway, Prince William and Prince Harry were playing in the polo (click on the image to see them a bit bigger). Very exciting. Apparently a helicopter was on standby just in case Kate went into labour and William had to go and do Dad duties. I wonder when this royal baby is going to show up?

Ooh and obviously the wool delivery was also a highlight for last week too!

I hope you’re having a happy week and enjoying all this glorious sunshine – doesn’t it make you feel like you’re on holiday?

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Cooking, crochet, Day trips, Flowers, Home, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (25/52)

  1. Kate says:

    Sounds like a gorgeous weekend, and I’m glad your knowledge of polo is about as comprehensive as mine 😉 And as for the crochet squares, OMG do you have…. news????!! (pause for dramatic effect). Please tell! x

Leave a Reply

