♥ New wool ♥

Ahoy!

Parcel for Jones ©The House of JonesSo, I received a little parcel this week (it’s a wonder I found it actually, our postman is rather imaginative in his delivery). Eeee, a parcel of the best kind – N E W  W O O L !

New wool ©The House of JonesA little bit of extra Stylecraft Special DK to boost and replenish my stock. From right to left: denim, cloud blue, sherbert, cream and midnight: (the midnight looks black here, but it’s a lovely dark, navy blue)

Stylecraft Special DK ©The House of JonesAnd some Drops Muskat 100% cotton::

Drops Muskat cotton ©The House of JonesOooh isn’t it lovely? Starting at the bottom and going clockwise: off white, light yellow, ice blue, light blue, blue, dark purple, coral (my fave!), old pink, dark olive and apple green.

This is my first foray into cotton yarn. My next project (after I finish all the others!), uses a pattern that asked for Rowan Belle Organic (50% wool, 50% cotton), but that seems to have been discontinued and I really struggled to find an alternative that was in the colours I needed. Can you recommend one? I don’t know if the 100% cotton will do the job, but the colours are perfect and I can’t wait to get hooking with them!

As with my last boost to the wool stash, there was a little bit of playing with the wool before I hid it down beside the sofa::

Drops Muskat blues ©The House of JonesDrops Muskat pinks ©The House of JonesDrops Muskat greens ©The House of JonesI’m thinking that a plastic bag down beside the sofa isn’t really the best way to store my yarn. I’d really like a nice, sturdy colourful number but I’ve yet to find one. Maybe I need to look online. Or maybe I should use some of my stash to make one?

Anyway, while we’re on the subject of doing nice things with wool, I hope you’ve seen that Lucy’s got a postal address for us to send our Yarndale bunting to now? Eek what an exciting time she’ll have opening all the parcels of colourful bunting from around the world! Reminds me that I want to make a few more before I parcel mine up…

But right now, I’m going to go and have my dinner. Maybe outside. Because there’s still a tiny bit of sun at the end of the garden and it’s nice to make the most of it!

I hope you’ve had a good week and have nice plans for the weekend,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, General chit chat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ♥ New wool ♥

  1. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (25/52) | The House of Jones

  2. Jen says:

    Oh – that is beeyootiful wool. I love the way you’ve posed it before using it. I’ve got some lovely drawstring knitter bags (http://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/KnitterBag) to keep my current projects in, but they probably wouldn’t be big enough for SO MUCH wool!

Leave a comment