52 weeks of happy (24/52)

Hi all,

Gosh what a scorcher we’re having here in the UK at the moment. It’s hot, but I’m not complaining as I know it won’t last long! Lots of happies this week, didn’t have photos for all of them, so this is just the ones where I did. My camera is still broken (mainly because I haven’t done anything to see about getting it fixed) so I’m using The Bert’s. I like it actually, and it takes good snaps. It’s a Canon like mine, but a super slim Ixus 1201S.

Anyway, on with this week’s small joys…

1. Homegrown strawberries

Homegrown strawberries ©The House of Jones

I actually cannot believe the bumper crop that we picked at the weekend from our small number of strawberry bushes. About 600g and this was the second lot! I like mine with sugar and cream, and they tasted amazing!

Eating strawberries ©The House of Jones

2. Pegging out

Washing on the line ©The House of Jones

Nothing like seeing laundry blowing on the line… especially against such a blue, blue sky!

3. Plant sale

Plant sale purchases ©The House of Jones

One of our neighbours has held a little plant sale the last couple of weekends. We stopped by on Saturday and picked up these beauties: a pink and white petunia (how does that work? to have different colour flowers on the same plant?), a bright pink geranium (this was a left-field choice by me. My mum is probably looking at this thinking ‘but she hates geraniums!’ Which is true, they are not my favourite, mainly because of the funny smell while they are growing, but I just couldn’t resist the pink POP of this one!), and lastly a yellow begonia to replace our beloved begonia (you can see it at the bottom of this post) which didn’t survive the winter.

4. New scarf

Bird scarf ©The House of Jones

I have been admiring this scarf for MONTHS and I found it this weekend at The Cotswold Show for a bargain £4! Every other time I’ve seen it, it’s been £12-15 and given that I have about a million other scarves, I couldn’t really justify getting it. I could hardly let it go at that silly price! especially with the birds so jolly and colourful… I’m sure you understand?!

I hope you’re having a very happy week and enjoying the good weather,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Flowers, Garden, Home, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

