Ready for a vintage tea party

Some of you will remember the wonderful vintage plate cake stand I was given by The Bert’s cousins for Christmas.

New cake stand © The House of JonesIt’s absolutely gorgeous and has pride of place on my dresser – I never intended to keep it out but it’s far too pretty to leave in the cupboard until it is needed.

Anyway, I’ve been looking since I got it to try and find some tea plates to go with it. Not an exact match, but near enough in terms of style and colour. There’s a wonderful antiques shop in town which goes back for miles, split into different rooms. It’s a real treasure trove of items from the weird and wonderful to collectables, to things I recognise from my own childhood. Whenever I’m in town I pop in, to see if they’ve had new stock which might, just might, contain the tea plates I am after. No luck so far.

But last weekend, I finally had success! While my tummy was behaving, we headed to Burford for a bit of village shopping. It’s a lovely village with gorgeous houses, and a big wide high street of little shops to explore.

Burford ©The House of Jones Lovely Burford ©The House of JonesThe houses are so picturesque (I naughtily snapped the picture above over the top of a wall – I just really wanted to know what was behind the big, wooden, gated entrance), and we even got to have a nosy in the garden of one of them as they had an open garden and a lovely  plant sale.

Burford plant sale ©The House of JonesOne of the first proper shops that we went to on arriving in Burford was a little antiques shop, where it soon became apparent that I might, just might, find the tea plates I’ve been longing for. And I did! I was quite spoiled for choice actually, but settled upon two designs – one frilly plate with dainty little flowers around the edge and a second plainer plate with a larger floral motive.

Floral cake plate ©The House of Jones Rosy cake plate ©The House of JonesIt was only on getting them home that I realised what a perfect compliment they are to my cake stand: the frilly plates are from the same company, Royal Albert (what luck!), and the plain ones pick out the colours and roses perfectly.

Vintage tea plates and cake stand ©The House of JonesI’ve popped them up onto the dresser, all ready for a tea party occasion.

actually, the dresser is getting a little cluttered what with all the lovely things I’ve been putting on it. I think I need to rationalise it a little and choose fewer things to prevent it looking messy. A job for another day!

For now, I’m just so enjoying my little tea plates, and thinking about the dainty cakes I could be serving onto them. As always, recipes suggestions welcome.

Jones x

PS. No closer to finding out what my weird algal plant is. The Bert thought it might be brain fungus (never heard of it), but I’ve done a google image search (was a little afraid of what it might bring up!) and I’m not sure it’s quite right. The research continues!

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Day trips, General chit chat, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ready for a vintage tea party

  1. Mum says:

    I think you scored a hit there with the plates – a wonderful ‘nearly match’. They complement each other perfectly. I hope you’ll join our Virtual Tea Party in October. What a pretty place Burford is – very picturesque.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  2. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (19/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

