Plant detectives

As some of you know, garden knowledge is not my strong point and I’m need of help again identifying a strange plant/algae that I’ve noticed a few times in our garden.

It’s very rubbery, which makes me think it’s more of an algae, and I only seem to notice it during or after heavy periods of rain – of which we’ve had a lot in the last couple of days. It’s almost as though it’s there normally, but then it hydrates and pads out and suddenly I see it on the edge of the path and on top of the soil.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Any ideas as to what it might be? I’d love to know!

While I was out in the garden just now getting pictures of my unidentified plant, I spotted a couple of snails – doing rudies! Fascinating, but also a bit gross… they kept at it, even when I picked one up to move it out of the flowerbed. Bleugh.

Mating snails ©The House of JonesLuckily I was quickly distracted by my primulas/primroses which looked particularly lovely, even in the rain::

Bright pink primroses  ©The House of JonesAnyway, plant detectives, do let me know what you think of my weird algae plant, and let me know if you’ve got it in your garden too?

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Flowers, Garden, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Plant detectives

  1. Poppy says:

    Oh, that gluey thing. Last year, end of summer, my mother-in-law’s garden was literally covered in it, and noone in the family of experienced hobby gartners could tell what it was. Good luck finding it out! And also how to get rid of it…

  2. Mum says:

    Ugh both plant and snails look revolting. Never seen anything like that plant in my garden. I think it’s an alien from outer space.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  3. Pingback: Ready for a vintage tea party | The House of Jones

  4. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (19/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

