Raspberry Almond Cake

A bowl of strawberries ©The House of Jones

I know what you’re thinking, those aren’t raspberries. Well, it seemed that Mr Tesco wanted me to think outside the box yesterday, hence this recipe quickly because Strawberry Almond Cake!

My parents, sister, brother-in-law and niece came to visit yesterday (what a lovely day!), which gave a good excuse to do a spot of baking. Baking can sometimes be a little tricky where my family are concerned as both my mum and sister are coeliacs, or glutards as I like to call them! I know there are plenty of gluten free recipes out there, but they can sometimes taste a little strange or not rise as they should, so this recipe was perfect as it didn’t have to be adapted by swapping out normal flour with GF flour, it was already suitable for coeliacs and extremely tasty for non glutards too. Hurrah!

Strawberry almond cake ©The House of Jones

My friend from work gave me this recipe several months ago – I should just note that I have no idea where this recipe originates from, so apologies if it is yours.

Raspberry Almond Cake

Ingredients

For the cake:

  • 6 medium eggs, separated
  • 250g caster sugar
  • 350g ground almonds
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

For the filling:

  • 200g raspberry jam (or strawberry jam)
  • 200g raspberries (or strawberries – cut into small pieces)
  • Icing sugar for dusting

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C/Gas 5 and butter and line the bases of two 20cm cake tins
  2. Whisk the egg whites until they are stiff
  3. In a separate (larger) bowl, whisk the egg yolks and sugar together, making sure the mixture is not too pale and thick
  4. Gently fold in the whisked egg whites in three goes
  5. Then, fold in the ground almonds and baking powder, mixing until they are evenly incorporated
  6. Divide the cake mixture between the tins and give them a couple of taps on the work surface to bring up any large air bubbles
  7. Bake for 35 minutes until the top feels springy to the touch and the sides are shrinking away from the tin
  8. Run a knife around the collar of each cake and turn them out to cool on a wire rack, removing the baking paper lining
  9. Once cool, work the jam in a bowl until it is smooth and then gently stir in the fruit
  10. Spread the top of one of the cakes with the filling and then use the other cake to sandwich the top
  11. Dust with icing sugar and serve

My tips to you?

  • Serve with clotted cream, or cream fraiche. Or maybe ice cream – we all agreed this might be nice if serving the cake when slightly warm.
  • If eating cold, leave the cake a while before serving – it takes on more of the flavour from the filling (the second slice later in the day taught us that!).
  • Watch your cooking times – I don’t know if this recipe needs adjusting for a fan oven, but I cooked mine at 190C for only 30mins and it was starting to burn a little around the edges. Next time I think I’d cook at 170C for the advised 35mins.

And there we have it! It really was very easy, so if you’re looking for a recipe for the coeliacs in your life, then give this one a try.

Let me know if you give it a go, I’d love to hear how you get on!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, General chit chat, gluten free, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Raspberry Almond Cake

  1. sybaritica says:

    MMM… looks so decadently good 🙂

  2. Louise says:

    sounds good. My other half is a “glutard” and I haven’t had much success with gluten free baking (though admitted, I rarely bake so haven’t made many attempts) – this sounds like it’s worth a try, thanks for sharing.

  3. Christine says:

    Thank you for sharing this recipe – it looks really good! I shall have to try it for one of my friends who recently had to give up gluten.

  4. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (17/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

