52 weeks of happy (16/52)

Ahoy there!

I hope you’ve had a good week. It’s been busy here – week 3 on renovations, we’re getting there! I’m getting quite impatient to have it finished now…

Anyway, on with this week’s happies::

1. Daffodils

Gorgeous daffs © The House of Jones

I really do just adore them! I’ve not counted up how many times daffodils have appeared in my happy list, but I bet it is a lot! I promised The Bert that this would be my last pot of tete-a-tetes but given how cute they are, I feel that may have been a little foolish! There are actually quite a few happies in this picture – the big daffs next to them are in the gorgeous vase my sister gave me for my birthday. This is the 5th item I’ve got from this pottery lady, Sarah Billingham, I just love her work. On the shelf above are another birthday present – three adorable tins from The Bert. Love the design and the colours and having space to store bits and bobs – he knows me well! And those that have been reading my happies since the beginning will spot my cake stand (week 5) and my lovely mugs (week 9) – oh and there’s my amigurumi Simon Owl there next to the tins too!

2. Big BBQ weather

Our big BBQ © The House of Jones

The weather on bank holiday Monday was amazing! We had set aside the day to paint, but the new plaster still wasn’t quite dry, so instead we constructed the BBQ my uni friends had given us for our wedding. We didn’t get round to it last autumn, but with the good weather upon us we thought it was time to give it a test run. Wow, it is a B E A S T ! and worked like a dream. Perhaps designed for slightly more food than we put on it though, hehe! (who knew gas canisters and gas were so expensive though?!).

3. Crochet bunting

Blocking crochet bunting © The House of Jones

With the baby blanket finished, I returned to my crochet bunting this week. All the flags are made now, and I thought I’d be good and proper and attempt to block them into shape. This is the first thing I’ve blocked. I bought a foam seat pad from Dunelm Mill (£2.99) to pin them into but then realised that I didn’t have a spritz bottle to give them their spa treatment spray of water. So instead… try not to laugh… I took them out into the rain for 10mins! The rain seemed to fall everywhere except on the pad – I was considerably wetter than the crochet. Who knows if it will have worked or not.. I tried at least!

4. My clever sister

Knitted blanket © The House of Jones

This has made me so, so happy this week. This beautiful blanket has been made by my clever sister. She started knitting again at the end of last year, and so for part of her Christmas present I bought her a book of baby blanket patterns. This one is called Baby Blocks and the alternation of knit then purl stitches creates a lovely woven effect. Isn’t it brilliant? And so neat! I am not a knitter, and can’t comprehend making something so big, with so much counting!

Knitted blanket folded © The House of Jones

She is on a bit of a roll, as she also made this amazing owl…

Knitted owl © The House of Jones

…and five hats for the charity Christmas shoe boxes.

I hope you’re having a very happy week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, amigurumi, Birthday, crochet, Flowers, Garden, knitting, Renovations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (16/52)

  1. tricia says:

    Hello Jones, would your sister please tell me how to go about getting the pattern for this awesome baby blanket? Love reading the coming and going of your family.
    Tricia In South Africaxxx

    • Thanks for your lovely comment Tricia, my sister will be very excited to get comments on her blanket!
      The book is called Knit along with Debbie Macomber: The shop on Blossom Street. There are 11 baby afghan patterns in it, including a gorgeous one with boats! I bought it in a little book shop, but it might be available on Amazon?
      Jones x

  2. tricia says:

    WOW, thank you so much for doing this, have gone on line and it is available on Amazon,will arrange to have it sent via my twin sister who lives in England, (no Amazon in South Africa)
    Never heard of this knitting lady,but feel as if I have found a treasure!
    Love your blog for its Englishness,which makes me just a little homesick.
    Thank you again friendxxx
    P.S Follow you via emailxx

Leave a Reply

