52 weeks of happy (14/52)

Hello lovelies, just a quick one from me today with last week’s happies (bit late, sorry!):

1. Renovations are underway

Utility renovations underway © The House of Jones

So, I hinted at this last week – we’ve got the builders in to renovate the bit of the house attached to the kitchen. Currently a downstairs cloakroom (not that you would ever want to use it, yuk!) and big cupboard, it’s going to be a nice new downstairs cloakroom and proper utility room! I am beyond excited. So far the work is going well.

2. The Affordable Art Fair

Screen printing © The House of Jones Our screen prints © The House of Jones

On Saturday, The Bert and I went to the Affordable Art Fair in Bristol. Clutching vouchers that The Bert’s sister had given us for our wedding present, we turned up not knowing what to expect. What we got was the most fantastic day out! Loads of art to look at: sculpture, mixed media, oils, acrylic paintings, wire models, bronze models, ceramics… you name it! There was an education zone for the children to have a go at screen printing (luckily big kids were allowed too! Our efforts turned out pretty well – I did the wave, The Bert did the fish), and a cafe and a lovely vibrant atmosphere. We couldn’t believe how busy it was!

Plus we found the most beautiful painting to spend our vouchers on…

Our new painting © The House of Jones

…an original acrylic on canvas of the seascape and headland from Beer, Devon. This picture jumped out at us, and when we found out it was of Beer, a place we have visited several times, it was just meant to be. Not sure where we’ll hang it yet, we’ve been carrying it around the house to find the best spot!

3. Lunch with a view

Lunch with a view © The House of Jones

We tried a new cafe in town on Sunday for lunch – had the most lovely view of the church. The food was good, the setting was lovely. I think it’s our new favourite!

4. The final curtain…

Curtain pole DIY © The House of Jones

…pole. Bit of DIY on Sunday – I’m so happy to have the final curtain up and in place!

Sorry for such a fleeting one today, and general absence from blogland. I’m finding with the builders here, and desperately trying to get my blanket finished for the weekend, I’ve not got much spare time for writing. Which is a shame as I could have done a whole post on the Art Fair alone! and I’ve still not told you about our Easter holiday!

Anyway, have a happy week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Day trips, Home, Renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (14/52)

  1. Louise says:

    What great happy moments. I love your new painting.

  2. Mum says:

    Stay happy throughout your disruptions. Your alterations should be wonderful.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  3. Jacquie says:

    Eeeek, love that painting Jones. Sounds like a great event. Glad the 52 weeks is making you post …love to here your news .Hope the alterations are not too stressful.
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

