52 weeks of happy (13/52)

Hello, hello! Hope this finds you well?

I’d like to start by saying a big thank you for all the new followers, lovely comments and likes I’ve received recently, especially on my granny squares, blanket progress and Wetlands Cake. Oh, it’s made my day! Thanks also for identifying my pretty pink plant in last week’s happies as a flowering currant. I’ve seen several since, and have found myself muttering ‘oh, what a lovely flowering currant’ in a very knowledgeable way, as if I always knew!

So, onto this week’s happies:

1. Happy shoes

Yellow shoes © The House of Jones

So overjoyed to be reminded of my yellow trainers by this post over at Kate’s (you must visit her if you don’t already, she is fabulous). We’ve still got a fair few boxes waiting to be unpacked and I knew I hadn’t come across them already – after a good rummage, I found them! They are the perfect footwear for sunny days, giving me a sunny bounce in my step! I think they are even more yellow than this photo makes out. Happy shoes!

2. Tying up loose ends

Sewing in ends © The House of Jones

I’ve sewn in all the ends on my crochet blanket now. Not normally something I enjoy doing, but I woke early on Saturday and have to say it was very soothing to just tidy up the edges. Shamefully, I’m still procrastinating on actually Doing the edge. Better get a wriggle on, only 2 weeks until I need to have it finished!

3. A sunny day at Slimbridge

Kingfisher at Slimbridge © The House of Jones

We met up with friends at Slimbridge this Saturday – a little early birthday gathering. The weather was gorgeous and it was lovely pootling about, observing the birds. There’s a lot going on there at the moment: kingfishers are excavating their nests (we were lucky enough to glimpse this one before he continued with his work), Arctic Terns are breaking up their journey to the Arctic with a stop-off at the reserve, and cranes are nesting there for the first time in 400 years. I even saw my first swan on its nest! (having marveled at Jacquie’s photo only the other week). A lot of fun was had, especially on the Canoe Safari – there is something lovely about being on the water.

4. More spring flowers

Unknown flower © The House of Jones

The garden continues with its spring bloom and I’m really enjoying seeing what we’ve got – last year the garden rather passed me by what with renovations and planning our wedding. Anyway, this week this lovely flowering bush/plant caught my eye. As usual, I need a bit of help identifying it. It looks to me like a bushy wall flower? Is there such a thing?!

Some other excitements are underway in The House – we’ve got the builders in. It feels cheating to tell you more as we’re already into a new week – I’ll save it for next time…

In the meantime, I hope you have a very happy week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Blog related, crochet, Day trips, Flowers, Garden, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (13/52)

  1. Sue says:

    looks like we have both had good weeks – looking forward to hearing more about your building work – love the trainers x

  2. Mum says:

    Brilliant trainers!
    Love from Mum
    xx

Leave a Reply

