Joining granny squares

While we were away on our Easter holidays, I began the task of joining my framed granny squares for my Elmer-inspired Granny Patchwork Baby Blanket.

I was looking forward to the joining, but apprehensive as well. I’ve not made anything from grannies before so the joining was something new, and I so wanted to get it Just Right (although that is nothing new, what with my perfectionistic tendencies!).

One last play with the squares::

Stacks of granny squares © The House of Jones

Granny squares © The House of Jones Colour wheel of granny squares © The House of Jones

The cottage we were staying in had a lovely large dining table, large enough to lay out all my squares and still have room to eat at the other end, which meant that I could leave the squares out and in place all week. This was both a blessing and a curse – I lost track of the amount of time I spent gazing at my squares.

And I quickly learned that arranging things randomly is Difficult! Without trying, patterns started creeping in – I must have started from scratch at least three times before I was finally happy with things. I’d think I had it ok, then I’d look from a different direction and suddenly a different pattern of the same colours always next to each other would jump out at me!

The Bert kept saying that each version looked great and that there had to come a point where I just Stopped Fiddling. He was right, of course – looking back at the photos of my various attempts (which I won’t bore you with!), there was nothing so very wrong with any of them.

I chose to crochet the squares together with slip stitches, in a contrasting cream.

Joining granny squares © The House of Jones

Here’s my first row, all joined:

One row of joined granny squares © The House of Jones

I’d worked the corners of my grannies with three chains, but decided (after many practices) that trying to join that middle chain was proving too tricky as the cream wool was showing from the front. Therefore I only joined 1 chain in one direction, and 1 in the other, leaving the middle one. It seems to have worked ok. The sides were easy as I just went along joining in the top of the stitches from the previous round. I felt immensely pleased that I was Getting It!

By the end of holiday, I still had a couple of rows left to join in one direction, and I’ve worked hard this week to finish that off, and join them down the vertical joins too.

Something I hadn’t thought about before (although is really obvious to me now!) is that in joining them the blanket shrinks in size from when you just lay them out:

Joined vs non-joined granny squares © The House of Jones

I’m happy with the final size, especially as I’m going to add a border, but will remember to bear this in mind next time.

So, this where I’m currently up to, all the squares joined in both directions and just the ends to weave in.

Front::

Front of granny patchwork baby blanket in progress © The House of Jones

And back::

Granny patchework baby blanket in progress - back © The House of Jones

Ooh I LOVE IT! I was a bit worried about joining in cream, but I think it works really well – a nice contrast!

So, only The Edge to go!! I’m thinking initially a cream border, and then picking out a couple of the colours to finish. Which colours would you use for the border?

Oh and before I go, if you’re still wondering where we went on holiday, here’s one last clue::

Three-legged holiday clue © The House of Jones

Any ideas?

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Joining granny squares

  1. JJ says:

    fabulous! Makes my blanket look very dull now… Maybe my cardi will be more impressive?!

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, Wow ! your blanket is looking wonderful…love those stylecraft colours and the crochet joining.
    I also love the photos of the squares before joining .
    Enjoy the border what ever you choose to do and thankyou for reminding me about the sky/daffodil shot :0)
    Jacquie x

  3. Louise says:

    The blanket looks great. I hope you’ll tell us about your holiday soon! I’ll guess it was Pembrokeshire, it looks like somewhere on the south west coast, but I could be very wrong and probably am!

  4. Ooh what a beautiful blanket! The colours are lovely! Thank you for explaining how you joined it too, I will be having to join the squares of a very large blanket soon and I wasn’t at all sure how I was going to do it! I love the fact that the front of your blanket it so neat, I Have sewn squares together in the past but the final result was never as seamless!

    • Thank you Hannah! Look forward to seeing your blanket 🙂
      I forgot to mention in my post – but I joined the squares RIGHT sides together, and only slip stitch in the back loops – that’s what gives the neat line from the front. If you double crochet your squares together you’d end up with more of a ridge, which can be quite effective. I’ve seen people feature it on the front of their blankets too (i.e. then you would join with wrong sides together).
      Best of luck!
      Jones x

  5. Sue says:

    Your blanket is beautiful – I love all the shots you have taken. I think there is something magical about piles of granny square jewels – thank you for sharing x

  6. Laura says:

    All those squares look very impressive lined up on the dining room table! What a great blanket. =)

  7. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (13/52) | The House of Jones

  8. Love the blanket, I appreciate what you say about trying to do things randomly I have applied a random theory to some of my blankets and it is really hard to achieve as however you set out the squares you manage to find a pattern. For the edging what about a colourful stripy edge worked in double crochet (uk) single crochet (us), I used it working into the back loop only and this gave a nice ridged effect. I think this would work great with your gorgeous colourful squares. You can see some photos using this link if you are interested. http://thegrangerange.wordpress.com/2013/01/12/colourful-crochet-blanket-no-3-of-4/
    Look forward to seeing it complete with the edging.

    • Thanks for your kind words about my blanket, and for your suggestions on the edge! I love how yours has turned out. Working in backloops only gives a lovely effect, doesn’t it!
      Jones x

Leave a Reply

