Shades of yellow

Hello, hello,

When my family came to visit me last weekend (only last weekend, gosh it feels like aaaages ago!), they gave us a M A S S I V E bunch of daffodils. We’re not talking a couple, we’re talking Fifty Stems. 50. Five. Zero. And they look absolutely beautiful!

I decided to keep them all together in one big, jolly jug (a sample sale bargain – only £3!).

50 shades of yellow © The House of Jones

In taking photos of my little host of golden daffodils, I played around with the settings on my camera. I’m usually a point and shoot picture taker, using the auto mode, but I’m realising the importance of getting the setting right as it so affects the colour.

Here’s one taken on auto mode:

Daffs © The House of Jones

And then the same photo taken on the foliage setting…

Bright daffs © The House of Jones

… which is a much truer representation of their colour. I’d like to get better at taking digital photos and be able to pop my camera on complete manual mode with confidence, but for now just playing with the settings on the dial is a vast improvement on auto!

Yellow seems to be this week’s colour.

Shades of yellow © The House of Jones

I’ve been making a birthday present for my friend at work, trying out Jacquie’s delightful owl pattern. I’m making a little Sunshine Owl and it’s coming along quite nicely!

Sunshine owl in progress © The House of Jones

We woke to snow yesterday and it’s been bitterly cold again this week (not as bad as other parts of the UK, I’m sure) so it’s lovely to have the house filled with spring flowers and working with happy colours to offset the grey and white outside.

I hope it’s a little more spring-like with you today,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, General chit chat, Home, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shades of yellow

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, love your daffodils and your bargain jug….lucky find !
    Glad the owl pattern is working O.K. the ….look forward to seeing him when he’s finished .
    Jacquie x

  2. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (11/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

