52 weeks of happy (10/52)

Good day to you. I hope you’ve had a lovely weekend. I haven’t found much time for blogging this week, but I’m pleased to bring you this week’s happies:

1. Working from home

Working from home © The House of Jones

Don’t get me wrong, I like working in an office and think I would go a bit bonkers if I had to work from home all of the time, but now and again it is really good to work from home and I’m lucky that I can when needs must. On Monday I had to take my car to the garage (the heater blowers stopped working again – luckily a free fix to put a wire back in, unlike last time which cost £285, ouch!), so I set up office in the dining room. Working from home meant I could use my favourite bowl for a spot of lunch (pea and ham soup, yum), and pop into the garden in daylight to see what was happening… (before we move on, just check out those daffodils with the bright orange centre – they have been amazing. Still going strong, they are my favourite bunch so far!).

2. Signs of spring

Garden daffs © The House of Jones

The garden is showing more signs of spring! Daffs have started to open in the little flower bed, and there are more bulbs shooting up in the borders. Crazy weather on Monday: snow one minute, bright sunshine the next – this was taken during one of the sunny patches. I Can’t Wait for proper spring days now. I’m so over winter!

3. Visitations

Cake table © The House of Jones

Hmm maybe visitations is the wrong word (definition: an official, or formal visit) as this was far from an official visit! Just a lovely and much-looked-forward-to visit from my parents, sister and niece. This was the first time my sister had been since we properly moved in – when she last came the kitchen was in the lounge in boxes, we were waiting for plaster to dry and utilising my brother-in-law’s height to start painting a few of the ceilings. And my niece wasn’t even born! Anyway, we had a super time: pottering in the shops, lunch out, nice big dinner, and stopping for coffee and cake at my favourite coffee shop. Just LOOK at the ladened cake table, so tempting!

4. Playtime with my niece

Playtime © The House of Jones

Probably my number one happy thing this week was playing with my niece. I don’t get to do it a lot as my sister lives in Amsterdam so I have to cram in as much giggly playtime as possible when we do meet up. The last time I saw her was at Christmas and she has grown so much since then! She’s nine months old now and an absolute treasure. We had lots of fun with the stacking crabs I bought her for Christmas – they are still a big hit, her favourite thing at the moment is banging them together. And she loved the ‘hide and squeak eggs’ I got for her too – ‘piep piep verrassing!’ Ahhh being an auntie is The Best!

Ooh, in other news – only eight more granny squares to go and then I can arrange and join! I am savouring these last few – joining slightly fills me with dread. I’ve not done it before!

Anyway, I hope you’ve had a very happy week too,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Being an Auntie, Garden, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (10/52)

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones, love your happy things….I keep hoping some of my Daffodil bunches will turn out cream….or double ….or have orange centres…but just plain yellow this year.
    I love the outdoor pic with the blue sky Daffodil…..I’ll be trying to capture one like that soon :0)
    Have a great week….think more snow is forecast…..crazy !
    Jacquie x

  2. Very jealous of your daffs – I’m still waiting for mine!

    I’m currently joining my granny blanket and I just want it DONE NOW!

    Claire x

  3. Louise says:

    No daffodils around here yet but crocuses have begun to appear. I love you orange centred daffodils.
    Those stacking crabs look like great fun. What a lovely week you’ve had 🙂

Leave a Reply

