52 weeks of happy (9/52)

Well here we are again! Another edition of 52 weeks, and some of my happy things from the week.

I actually never thought I’d keep this up, so I’m really pleased to be here at week 9 and still enjoying finding these little happies to write about each week. I’m not always on time with my weekly posts, but what is the point in stressing about something that’s supposed to be collecting the happy things?!

1. Garden dolly daffs

Spring flowers © The House of Jones

I bought a little tub of tête-à-têtes to pop in and around my primroses – they’ve started flowering this week, and I just love the colours together. When we were little my mum used to call them dolly daffodils, something I only just remembered writing this now! (Happy Mothering Sunday, Mum x)

2. Day tripping

Bourton-on-the-Water © The House of Jones

The Bert’s mum has been visiting us this weekend, which is a happy in its own right. We went for a little day out to Bourton-on-the-Water yesterday, a very quaint village not too far from The House of Jones. It’s absolutely gorgeous on a sunny day – this grassy area is filled with people picnicking and children playing in the shallow river. There are lots of lovely shops to potter in, and plenty of tea-rooms, ice-cream shops and pubs to recharge. There’s a surprising amount to do in such a small village!

3. Dressing the dresser

Rosy mugs © The House of Jones

Ooh new mugs. For the dresser. Obviously we will use them for a lovely cup of something at some point, but for now they are looking so gorgeous on the dresser – a little souvenir from our day trip. Love the delicate detail of the pink flowers. Dressing the dresser really is one of my top happies at the moment! I promise I will share it with you soon!

4. Little JB

JB © The House of Jones

He really is such a sweet pet. He runs around the cage at a million miles an hour; sits quietly plotting evil plans (we suspect); self disciplines himself occasionally by sitting in the corner, facing the wall; and always eats his dinner (or maybe it’s his breakfast, being nocturnal?) at 8/8.30pm ish. Plus he is S U P E R soft. Too cute!

An additional happy for this week is reading about the gorgeous Red Nose Day Dolls and seeing what a stir they’ve caused. If you read Lucy’s blog, you’ll have seen that she’s been involved in the project and has done a lovely post about them here. Sadly, the auction is way out of my price range now, but I’ve loved how talented crafters have come together for this cause. The finished dolls, with their extensive trousseaux, are amazing and I hope they raise a LOT of money for Comic Relief.

Have yourself a very happy week,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in 52 weeks of happy, Day trips, Garden, Home, JB. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52 weeks of happy (9/52)

  1. sandiart says:

    Your little pots of flowers look lovely, I love Spring flowers, I love Spring. What sort of animal is JB? That village is gorgeous as are your new mugs.
    xx Sandi

  2. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (16/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

