♥ Granny love ♥

Ahoy! I’m still continuing to make my sweet little granny squares. I love them!

I thought we should have a bit of a chat about granny squares. This is actually my first go at making something with grannies, I’ve attempted the odd one here and there before, but usually end up unravelling them once I feel I’ve Got It. But this time I am grannying with purpose and that feels good.

I’m making an Elmer Inspired Granny Patchwork Baby Blanket for my friend, who is due at the beginning of June. Very excited. They’ve decided not to find out the baby’s gender, so I thought rather than making a neutral one in white/yellow/cream, I’d go out and use every colour instead! It’s all the lovely inspiration I’ve seen elsewhere in blogland (Jacquie, Heather, Lucy – to name just a few), it spurred me on to break from my usual muted tones.

Stylecraft Special DK © The House of Jones

After an initial flurry, I’m averaging about four grannies a day. I’m working them in colour groups, as I just love seeing the similar colours together.

Purples:

Granny squares: purples © The House of Jones

Pale blues/greens:

Granny squares: pale blues © The House of Jones

Reds/yellow:

Granny squares: reds © The House of Jones

Blues:

Granny squares: blues © The House of Jones

There’s always an odd collection that don’t seem to fit neatly into one shade!

Granny squares: odds © The House of Jones

I’ve got 55 of the little beauties now, which means only 25 to go until I’m at the arranging and joining stage. And then of course there’ll be the consideration of The Edge.

Ooh just L O O K at them all!

Granny squares in a row © The House of Jones

Close up to granny squares © The House of Jones

I’m quite pleased with the pattern I’m using for the grannies. It’s got a loose granny middle and a solid granny edge.

Granny squares: all colours © The House of Jones

This is a pattern that I worked out myself, incorporating bits I liked from squares I’ve seen elsewhere. I’m not claiming it to be An Original, but at the same time I haven’t followed a pattern to make it either, if that makes sense. Anyway, in case any of you lovelies like the effect, I’m going to try and write it out here. This is my first proper go at this sort of thing, so please do bear with me! and let me know in the comments if it worked, or if anything wasn’t very clear. (I’m afraid there are no pictures, so I may have overcompensated with words!). I’m writing this in UK crochet terms and calling it my::

Framed Granny Square

To begin: cast on, ch 4, sl st with the first in the chain to form a ring

Round 1: ch3, 2 tr into ring, ch2, *3tr into ring, ch2* repeat the asterix bit x3; sl st into top of original ch3

Round 2: sl st over to the corner; ch3, 2 tr into the corner, ch2, *3tr into the corner, ch1, 3tr into the next corner, ch2* repeat x3; to make the last side 3tr into corner, 1ch, sl st to join into the top of the beginning ch3

Round 3: sl st over to the corner; ch3, 1 tr into the corner; ch3; *2 tr into corner, then (and I hope this makes sense), 1 tr into the top of each stitch from round 2, including in the ch space (total of 7 – i.e. 3 in the top of the stitches, 1 in ch space, 3 in the top of the stitches), 2 tr into corner, ch3* repeat x3. Then, along the last side, 2 tr into corner, 1 tr in top of each stitch from Round 2 including chain sp, sl st to join to top of inital ch3. Cast off and sew in ends.

There! Did you do it? Did it all make sense? Please let me know if I can improve it/be clearer in any way.

And lastly, a bit of a plea for help! (sorry – this is turning into a bit of a granny marathon!) I’ve been having trouble casting off. The join seems to be really obvious?

Lumpy granny square © The House of Jones

Do you see what I mean? I’m doing a slip stitch to finish, then cutting the yarn, then yarn over and draw the end all the way through the loop and pull tight, and sewing in the ends but it just looks lumpy? I’m hoping that this will even itself out when I get to the joining stage, but in case I am doing anything really obviously wrong, I thought I’d just show you a picture in case you can give me any pointers. Maybe there is a more invisible way of casting off?

Gosh, this really did turn into a bit of a long one. Still, nice to get right in and talk about crochet now and then, isn’t it! And where better to do it than with like-minded souls.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to ♥ Granny love ♥

  1. tamsyng says:

    Lovely Colours 🙂

  2. cathy daniel says:

    Oh Crumbs! You’ve made the whole lot look absolutely edible! The ones that don’t fit into any category look like the ones with ‘attitude’! Gorgeous colours throughout! xCathy

  3. A fantastic selection of colours! And a great idea to attach the samples to cards with the colour names, very organised.

    Perhaps you need to slip stitch your last stitch into the next chain along? Might that help? I am guessing though!

    Look forward to seeing the finished piece 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip, I’ll give it a go. As for the wool chart – I’ve always been very organised… Even when I was very young doing cross stitch kits, I’d always make my little sample of threads! My inner geek coming out 😉
      Jones x

  4. Jacquie says:

    Ohh , love your grannies Jones . I like the way you have combined a granny with a solid square….best of both worlds :0)
    I’m a bit confused as to how you are casting off……….I would slip stitch into the top of the initial chain, pull up a loop in this stitch , cut yarn and pop the end through the loop and pull tight….is that what you have been doing ? sounds like except for the “yarn over” bit….I do this bit by hand so there is no hook to yarn over…hope this helps .
    Jacquie x

    • I think that is what I’ve been doing, just using my hook to pull the end through – maybe doing it by hand will result in less of a twist and a flatter join… Thanks Jacquie!

  5. Ladybird diaries says:

    I am also very into granny squares at the moment, currently working on a big blanket. Love your granny squares, colours are amazing – love Elmer, what a fab idea for a baby blanket.
    M xxxx

  6. Plain Jane says:

    Great idea to put them in colour groups – I might pinch that one (when I’ve made more than two!) Good luck in putting it together – Looking forward to seeing the result x Jane

  7. sandiart says:

    Oh pretty, pretty, not sure about your casting of, I always start and finish in a corner as it is easier. No help sorry!
    xx Sandi

  8. sandiart says:

    Haha ‘off’ even

  9. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (10/52) | The House of Jones

  10. Pingback: Joining granny squares | The House of Jones

  11. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (13/52) | The House of Jones

  12. Pingback: Elmer-Inspired Granny Patchwork Baby Blanket: The big reveal | The House of Jones

  13. 24t2day says:

    Love your little blanket and it’s lovely colors. For the join, check out the invisible join method here: http://www.lookatwhatimade.net/crafts/yarn/crochet/crochet-tutorials/crochet-invisible-join-vs-slip-stitch-join/

Leave a Reply

