Baby blanket plans: Vintage Blue

Hello, hello! A very happy Saturday to you.

I accidentally fell into my local wool shop today – ooh it is a delight in there! It’s only a little shop, which gives you the feeling that you’ve stepped into an oversized cupboard, with floor to ceiling shelves stacked with wool. Giddy excitement, I can tell you!

I felt quite bad about buying all that gorgeous Stylecraft Special DK (see it in all its glory, all 18 colours!) online rather than from the local shop, but they didn’t stock the Stylecraft Special and I so wanted to give it a try. Luckily my little shop does have Stylecraft Life DK – a lovely wool, 75% acrylic and 25% wool.

I was after the Stylecraft Life as I have plans to make another baby blanket in the vintage-esque colours. You may remember the baby girl blanket I made a couple of years ago for my friend’s little girl, also in Stylecraft Life – well this new one is for her baby brother, expected this June! I’m not going to start work on it yet, but I wanted to get the wool so that I could begin as soon as I’m finished with my granny squares project.

So, here is the new wool, Stylecraft Life DK in cream, cobalt and navy::

New wool - Stylecraft Life © The House of Jones

The labels have seen better days, but it’s the wool that matters, and the colours and feel are just perfect::

New wool - Stylecraft Life DK © The House of Jones

Yum!

I like that the blankets will have a similar feel to them in the muted colours, but I’ll probably ripple the Vintage Blue so that they’re not too matchy matchy. Excited!

Oh, in other news – the dance last night was, as predicted, absolutely hilarious! I can’t remember the last time when I laughed so much. The dances are held once a month as an opportunity for people taking the Jive/Lindy hop classes to practice what they’ve learned. Well, of course we’d never done it before, so it wasn’t so much practicing as just looking ridiculous! Still, we gave it a go, and a few kind folk offered to show us some steps – encouraging us to come along to the weekly class. Which we are now considering (and clearly need!)!

Anyway, enjoy the rest of your weekend – I’ll be back soon with this week’s happies.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baby blanket plans: Vintage Blue

  1. sandiart says:

    Hello Jones, I have missed a few posts, not sure why! Everything is looking gorgeous, you are making some lovely things, the mosiac (sp) is very clever. Good on you for giving the dancing a go, I learnt ballroom when I was 15, then classical ballet when I was 30, do love to dance.
    xx Sandi

  2. I used the Stylecraft DK at the weekend for the first time but I wasn’t overly keen. It is soft for an acrylic though! Local yarn shops are just lovely aren’t they?!

    Happy dancing!x

Leave a Reply

