Spring mosaic

Twice in one day! I know, it’s unheard of! Yet here I am again. I just wanted to share what I’ve been doing this afternoon. The Bert’s been doing a bit of painting in the kitchen (some box work that we hadn’t got round to doing), and I’ve been playing with card in the lounge!

I picked up these Dulux paint colour charts in the DIY shop yesterday::

Paint charts © The House of Jones

I know they are technically for difficult paint colour decisions in the home, but I thought they would be just perfect for a bit of craft. A little spring mosaic. So that is what I’ve been doing. Would you like to see?

Ta dah!

Spring mosaic © The House of Jones

It was quite fiddly cutting the little pieces of card. I wasn’t the tidiest. And I didn’t fit into all the gaps. But I think that might add to its charm?

Spring mosaic close up © The House of Jones

Most of my creativity comes out in wool, it felt good to be playing with paper and doing something different. I just jumped straight in, starting with the flowers, then the vase and leaves, then cutting away, finding little bits of card to fit in and around as the background. I tried to shade the background, starting darker at the bottom, getting lighter towards the top. That’s where the little paint charts really came in handy, as they give so many shades, each just slightly different.

Spring mosaic on the dresser © The House of Jones

I’m already loving it next to my little jug collection on the dresser. It adds a little burst of colour!

Probably not my finest work, but I don’t care. Spontaneous craft feels good.

Jones x

Edited to add: As Jacquie has so rightly noticed (below), I took inspiration for my miniature mosaic from over at Attic24 in this post. I rarely have an original idea! I read that post over a week ago, and the artwork clearly stuck in my mind. Well, my version of it anyway! 

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Craft, General chit chat, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring mosaic

  1. Jacquie says:

    That’s brilliant Jones ! I think I know where your inspiration came from ….Attic 24 ? Your version is ingenious and delightful . i LOVE it :0)
    Jacquie x

  2. A great idea to use the paint charts! Happy to have found you this week 🙂

  3. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (30/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

