Happy Birthday to The Bert

It’s The Bert’s birthday today. Happy Birthday to The Bert!

I made him this cake last night (the first thing I’ve baked in the new oven!) by way of celebration.

How we managed not to tuck into it straight away, I do not know. It’s just a Victoria sponge, but filled with vanilla buttercream and fresh strawberries (and a teeny bit of homemade plum jam). Yum!

I do feel I should be more adventurous with my baking – I have lots of lovely cook books, but I do tend to fall back on recipes I know when baking in a hurry. If you’ve got a fail-safe recipe that you think I should try next time I’m baking at short notice, please leave me a link/details in my comments!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Birthday, Cooking, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday to The Bert

  1. sandiart says:

    Happy Birthday to ‘The Bert’ and ooooo what a lovely cake, can I have a slice please 🙂
    xx Sandi

  2. Sandi Lee says:

    Hope you had a beautiful wedding day and night, looking forward to some photos!!!!
    xox Sandi

Leave a Reply

