It’s all about The House

Well so much for finding more time for blogging! Can’t believe February is almost knocking on our door already and I haven’t managed a single post since the beginning of the month!

Anyway, hello folk! Good to be back. Thanks for continuing to drop by, and hello to any new visitors. As always, it’s nice to see you!

Well, January has all been about The House. Yes, we’ve finally completed on our new place! (That’s the fireplace in our new house, above). It was 1 September when our offer was accepted, and we exchanged on 11 January and completed on the 12th. Me and The Bert are finally home owners. How very grown up!

I can’t remember what I’ve told you about The House – I was probably rather vague given that we weren’t certain that it would all go through ok. It feels ok to divulge some detail now that we have the keys and the debt! It’s a 3 bed house, semi-detached, with a big garden (front and back – so much better than our current prison yard patio!), space to park the car… I told you it was grown up. It’s a proper house! It’s also in need of a LOT of renovation, love and modernisation. We have quite a *big* project on our hands!

So this month really has been very busy. We took some time off work to crack on with stripping off as much of the wallpaper as we could, and organising workmen to come and quote for the various work that needs doing. There are just a few things… We need to repair/replace the roof, get gas connection, install central heating, sort out the electrics, plaster, take out part of the kitchen wall, enlarge the bathroom, sort out the damp, new kitchen, new bathroom, new carpet, and paint and decorate everywhere! Plus, sort out the asbestos shed and fix the utility room, open up 3 fireplaces and replace the electric fire with a woodburing stove. Oh and then there’s removing the polystyrene ceiling tiles, pulling down the asbestos garage, sorting out the boundary issue with next door and putting in a new fence. Simples! (gaa, it’s actually quite scary seeing it all written down like that!)

So there’s a rather busy time ahead… especially as we’re doing all this while trying to organise our wedding! Perhaps I am forgiven for not making it into blogland quite as much as I would like?

That said, I’m hoping there’ll be some time for some creative projects too. I have a very important Secret Project in the planning, plus I’m going to take my knitting to new levels. I only started in ~September last year: my friend at work is teaching me. I’ve been meaning to write about it for ages. We’re making knitted squares to join into a team blanket for when it’s cold in the office! We had intended to complete it before Christmas but gift projects got in the way – I was busy on a crochet scarf for my brother in law:

…and my friend was knitting a shrug for her sister. I’d like to advance from knitting in rows, but I fear it’s going to be as struggle as I’m not quite so keen on 2 needles. I’m more about the hooky!

Anyway, I hope that January has been a good start to 2012 for you. As well as the house news, I went to try on wedding dresses, met up with chums, and I’ve enjoyed seeing the first signs of Spring popping through – the odd snowdrop here and there, and bulbs pushing up. Not a bad month by all accounts. Here’s to Feb.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Craft, crochet, General chit chat, Renovations. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s all about The House

  1. sandiart says:

    What!!!!!! So here’s me thinking I had left a comment, and am quite sure I did……ah well, so how is it all going, still excited with your new home, how is it all going???? Did you have a lovely Easter, or were you working on your home?
    xx Sandi

  2. sandiart says:

    ……and for the third time ‘how is it all going’ haha, talk about repeat myself…..xx

  3. sandiart says:

    WHERE ARE YOU JONES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    XXSandi

  4. sue says:

    trying to find the free crochet pattern for hats w/ beards ty

Leave a Reply

