It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

Ahoy! Can’t believe it’s December already. November kinda passed me by. I certainly didn’t make it into blogland nearly as much as I would have liked. Hope you’ve been well?

Anyway, here we are in December, and I’m getting into the festive spirit. And the traditions are out in force – our advent stockings are up by the fire, the tree is up and decorated (same as last year! you can see photies here). We did buy a new decoration though, cute little fella:

Oh, and yesterday I finally baked our Christmas cake.

As usual I’m using a cake kit again this year. It’s a bit lazy I know, but I like how it comes with most of the bits I need and I think it works out slightly cheaper too – especially as this was on offer at half price! This year it was difficult to find a small cake kit – the supermarkets seem to have gone down the monster cake route, so that is what I had to get. Bit ridiculous as there’s only The Bert and I, and I’m the only one that really likes it, but hey ho. We’ll each have a slice on faux Christmas, and then I’ll take it home with me at Christmas and me, dad and Bart can enjoy a slice. That’ll deal with 5 out of the 20 portions! Mum and my sister will be on the gluten free…

Anyway, here is the kit: Tesco’s Mary Berry endorsed cake.

 

I had a few stumbles on the way – turns out I don’t have a 18-20cm, 7cm deep tin (cue me fashioning extra deep sides to a sponge tin out of foil and baking paper), but I got there. Albeit rather late in the day – it took 4-4 1/2 hours to cook! I started a bit late so it was gone 11pm by the time I could take it out of the tin and leave to cool properly!

Anyway, looks good and smells good. I’ll ice it in a couple of weeks.

Ooh, want to show you this lovely advent candle display which The Bert got – I light one candle per day, it’s lovely actually. A big one for Day 1 and Day 24 and little ones in between.

Are you feeling festive yet?

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Christmas, General chit chat, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , your cake looks yummy …may have to look out for a kit though I seem to be so busy at the moment I’m not sure I would even manage to make it. I love the snow falling on your blog it’s so festive and your advent candles are great .
    Jacquie x

  2. Sandi Lee says:

    Hi Jones, I thought I had already popped a comment on here….going daft!!! I also love the snow flakes. Wow your cake looks great, I don’t make a cake as my mum does and she also makes the pudding. I just have the day at my place and do the cooking. I think that cake in a kit is a great idea, it looks ‘made from scratch’ well it almost is 🙂
    x Sandi

  3. I’m not sure where the snow came from! I think it must be a wordpress thing, but I like it – feels lovely and Christmassy!
    Jones x

Leave a Reply

