A simple Sunday

Hello lovelies! A very happy Sunday to you all.

I’m having a rather relaxed time of it this weekend – as instructed by my sister. Things have been quite chaotic recently, with several trips home to Surrey on the hunt for a wedding reception venue. I guess we are lucky that there are quite a few options – but in some ways that makes deciding harder! (We’re getting there, but haven’t booked anything just yet). Anyway, this weekend I’m taking it easy, and today has been particularly lovely.

At this very moment you join me part way through making some red onion marmalade. I am a B I G fan of red onion marmalade, so I’ll most probably keep the majority of what I make to go in my lunch sandwiches, but perhaps I’ll be good and jar some up as Christmas presents.

I’m currently in the sweating until soft stage – could be a while, as I trebled the recipe (1.5kg red onions!). There are a lot of onions!

So, while that’s all going on, I thought I’d tell you about what else I’ve been up to today…

We had a leisurely start to the day: woke late, porridge in front of Something for the Weekend – it must have been midday by the time I was ready and dressed! But then we went off for a little jaunt to an Organic Farm Shop which is not too far from here. It came recommended by several folk in my car share (yes, I car share to work – how green am I?! There are six of us some days in a people carrier – we feel very smug when a ‘car share for one’ follows us into the car park!). What with it being such a lovely autumnal day today, crisp and fresh, I thought we should go and check it out.

And what a lovely hidden away place! There is a big farm shop selling bits and bobs which we mooched around for a while. The veg and meat did look amazing, but I’m afraid it was rather over priced for my budget. So we headed to the cafe instead for a spot of lunch.

…just adding the vinegar and sugar to the onions now:

Anway, lunch. Ooh it was delicious! The Bert went for a chicken, leek and mushroom pie, while I had a leek crustade (basically a leek bake with tomato, white sauce and breadcrumbs). Both were served with lots of salad – not your bog standard green leaves, but exciting and fresh – there must have been about five different ones.

And the view from our table was lovely – out across the farm to the chickens.

I really liked the cafe – just random tables, they hadn’t tried too hard but it was relaxed and welcoming (something which doesn’t really come across in my earlier picture… hmm).

After lunch, we headed out from the cafe and into the woods, to follow the trail around the farm. There were lovely views of the countryside, out over the fields to sheep and cows. It wasn’t a long walk, but long enough to take everything in and work off a bit of our lunch!

A rather successful outing I think – nice to go somewhere new, and a lovely day to be out walking.

Since we’ve been home I’ve been on the case in the kitchen. I’ve just made a tomato sauce from the bounty we picked from the garden. I’ll freeze it ready for when we need something easy for dinner. And I’ve been making the onion marmalade. It smells sooo good. Well it smells very vinegary actually, and the house will probably stink for days, but it looks very tasty!

And my final domestic thing for the day is that I’m going to make a plum sponge cake. I’ve just really got the urge. I don’t have a tried and trusted recipe, but I’ve found this one for a plum sponge pudding which I’m going to try. I’ll let you know!

In the meantime, the marmalade is almost ready for potting up, so I’d better go and prepare my jars etc etc

The rest of my simple Sunday will probably involve eggs on toast, some of my plum pudding, all while watching the Strictly results. Ooh and maybe a bit of wool action. Lovely!

Hope you’ve had a wondefully simple Sunday too,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Day trips, General chit chat, The great outdoors. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A simple Sunday

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Ooooh, had a lovely Sunday too! Went to Windsor Great Park to watch some intrepid folks running 10k in the inaugural Pharma Run, came home to sit in the lounge with my knitting, cup of tea, and a seventeen month old toddler (not a good combo) and then had some friends over for a beer and sparklers in the garden (they had a nine-month old so it was kind of even on the crawling/toddling ‘oh my god you’re too close to the sparkler’ front). Then we went to the pub to have a cosy beer (still with the children) and then watched the local fireworks display as we were leaving the pub and are now sitting down in front of the telly (minus child who is finally asleep, dreaming of fireworks) to eat jacket potatoes and watch the best of the cuddly Sunday telly we can find. I Love Autumn. Jones – hope you and Bert have a lovely week! xxx

  2. sandiart says:

    Phew what a post, oh my the onion marmalade sounds delish (I LOVE onions…..and garlic) That organic farm is lovely, such a pity that organic produce is so costly, guess it is because it is all ‘new age’ when in fact it’s how we used to farm. That reminds me I have to go and get a few tomato plants to pop in the patch, it has been raining today so would be an ideal thing to do.
    I like the sound of the plum sponge too, will have to give it a go.
    Have a great week.
    x Sandi

  3. Pingback: Plum sponge pudding | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

