Wedding in Amsterdam

Ooh look at me blogging in my lunchtime! I’m not sure I’ve ever done this before, but I wasn’t sure I’d have time this evening what with Great British Bake Off (highlight viewing of my week!), so here I am at my desk and off I go!

The weekend started rather chaotically, unfortunately. To be precise we almost missed the flight. The plumbers were round in the morning fixing the leak and it all took longer than anticipated, and so we set off rather late for Birmingham airport. I had built in contingency time, but not factored in massive delays through one of the villages, which had the high street up and was rolling out tarmac in a very slow and laboured fashion. By the time we got to the airport we were cutting it very fine – we had no time to wait for a bus from the parking to the terminal, we just had to run. But we made it (checking in just 40mins before our flight!), and despite me almost having an asthma attack through security, the rest of the journey was trouble free. (Incidentally, why is it that you can run ok for exercise, but as soon as you are faced with wearing the wrong clothes and shoes, carrying bags, and generally panicking, you are the most unfit person that ever walked the land?).

So we landed in Amsterdam and made our way to The Bert’s dad’s house. Coincidentally he lives about 10mins walk away from my sister, which was very convenient as her house was full of other guests (namely our parents and one of our aunties). Thursday evening was a relaxed affair with The Bert’s dad, it was good to catch up.

On Friday morning, the day of the wedding, I headed over mid-morning to my sister’s place, and then went with her and her best friend to get her hair and make-up done. The wedding wasn’t until 3pm so there was no need for rushing, which was lovely. Then there was time for a spot of lunch, and getting ready before the car came to collect us and take us to the venue.

[I’ve just realised, that although we took a LOT of photos, most of them have people in, and I forgot to get pictures of things like the venue and interiors and all the lovely things… you’ll have to try and imagine, or maybe I’ll be able to update with photos from one of my sister’s friends at a later date]

The venue was stunning. A really old, beautiful building with a marbled corridor which lead to a sumptuous, red room with floor to ceiling paintings, and this is where the ceremony took place. It’s not as common to have bridesmaids or a best man at a dutch wedding, but I had been asked to be one of four witnesses, which was a real honour. Us witnesses walked down with Bart, and then my dad came down the aisle with my sister – it brought tears to my eyes, dad looked so proud, and my sister so happy!

The service was lovely – I’d been asked to do a reading which thankfully went well, and the whole service was really personal and very moving.

We had champagne and cake cutting, and photos at the venue afterwards before walking through the streets for the next part of the day: a boat trip along the canals.

Finally, the evening ended with the wedding reception, with fantastic food (the wine was also flowing!), and the speeches. It was a tremendous day! One I’ll never forget. It was just great to see my sister and Bart so happy as they begin their married life together.

On Saturday, The Bert and I went for a bit of a wander around Amsterdam before heading over to open house at my sister’s to congratulate the happy couple. They weren’t going on honeymoon until Saturday evening and it was lovely to be able to see them and flick through some photos before they headed off. We (The Bert, my parents, The Bert’s dad and wife, Monique, plus my auntie) went out for dinner in the evening – it was the first time our families had met (took us 4 years to all be in the same place at the same time!), and it was a really fun evening.

Sunday, the weather changed for the worst – torrential rain – so we didn’t get up to much before heading home. It didn’t matter though, it had been beautiful and sunny for the wedding, and that was the main thing.

And that was the wedding weekend, albeit in very rushed detail! Absolutely beautiful.

I hope that you had a lovely weekend too.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in General chit chat, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding in Amsterdam

  1. Mum says:

    Sounds like you had a really wonderful time. Beautiful photos.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  2. sandiart says:

    You look and sound like you had a wonderful time, would be lovely to be able to just ‘pop’ over to Amsterdam!! How about a photo of yourself and one of the bride!!
    x Sandi

  3. Chloe Lynn says:

    Lovely photos and fabulous blog x

Leave a Reply

