Jam-packed

Almost the end of August and this is my first post of the month! Shame on me. In my defence, the past few weeks have been go-go-go! It all started the last week of July when I went to pick up my new wheels. So long Aunt Letitia… I was terribly sad to see her go. However, my new car is L O V E L Y ! A little silver one, nothing flash, but it has a CD player which is a big leap forward from my old tape stereo! I can’t decide if it’s a boy or a girl car, so for now I’m just calling it Orvis, after the fishing shop which we drove past on our way to and from the garage. The Bert really wanted to stop, but as the village looks rather pretty generally, I think we’ll go back for a proper explore another day.

    

That weekend was also Jam Weekend! The Bert was havesting lots of plums from the grounds at his work, so we turned the kitchen into Jam HQ. We were following a recipe in my Australian Woman’s Own Preserves recipe book.

    

The first batch was a beautiful ruby red colour, which was great as the first weekend in August was my parents’ Ruby Wedding Anniversary (more on that later). I packaged it up appropriately ready for gift giving.

The second batch was more of a golden orange colour and tasted a bit like apricot jam. I was finally able to use one of the jars The Bert gave me for my birthday:

The ‘cracking chutney’ jar is still waiting to be filled!

The week that followed was the last week of my job. I don’t think I got round to writing anything about my new job? I’m staying at the same company, just moving departments, actually back to the team I did my internship with. My last week was pretty busy and I was rather sad to leave my old team – they were a lovely bunch to work with, really encouraging and supportive, and a lot of fun too! Plus generous – they bought me some very appropriate leaving presents including the Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days recipe book and a lovely recipe book stand. I clearly talk about cooking and baking a lot! But although sad to go, I was excited about the new job too – new challenges and all that.

That week lead onto the Ruby Wedding celebrations. Mum & Dad had organised a brilliant weekend – my sister and Bart came over from Holland, plus my aunties and uncles came too, and we all enjoyed a jolly boat trip on the River Wey, followed by afternoon tea and cake in the garden, and a delicious dinner at a nearby hotel restuarant. It was good to all be together to help them celebrate their 40 years of marriage.

On the Sunday we went for a lovely walk, starting from Shere in Surrey. It’s a very pretty village, they sometimes use it in films e.g. The Holiday, and The Wedding Date. The church is a particular favourite of mine:

Anyway, we set off out from the village, taking in the scenic views across the fields…

admiring the trees and meadow flowers as we went…

   

past some cows…

 

through the woods…

and back into the village. I love the typically English cottages in Shere:

This one had some cheery little chappies in the front garden:

Lovely stuff! We definitely earned our pub lunch!

On our way home west, The Bert and I popped in to see his auntie and uncle. We spent part of the afternoon harvesting fruit (peaches, plums and apples) from the garden with his cousin, before a Sunday roast dinner with all the trimmings!

I’d never seen peaches on the tree before, and I didn’t think they’d be very nice, but they were ripe and juicy and full of flavour.

We brought some home with us and I made a delicious peach crumble.

And that brings us up to 7 August… see what I mean about busy!

So, the following week I started my new job. I’m really enjoying it so far – it’s quite full on as I’ve already got several projects to work on as well as the day-to-day jobs. I’ve found the first few weeks a bit overwhelming, but I’m slowly finding my feet.

The weekends continue to be fun-filled: weekend before last we had friends to visit – a really lovely relaxed weekend of pottering, shopping, eating, and a trip to a Cotswold village; and this weekend just gone we went to meet up with some of my uni friends for a summer party. I’ve not seen everyone since a wedding at the end of May (oh crikey, still not written about that yet!), so it was great to have the whole weekend together for swimming, BBQ, rounders, too much food and drink, and overnight camping in the garden. The babies came (recipients of my baby boy and baby girl blankets) – it was so cute seeing them meet for the first time!

And I think, if you’re still reading (sorry it’s been such a long post), that brings us up to today! Phew! So much has happened in August: new car, new job, plus it’s our anniversary at the end of the month. It’s good to be busy though. However it has meant that I’ve not been very good at keeping in touch with friends in the real world, and I’ve not been in blogland much either. I’ve missed visiting you and reading about what you’ve been upto and seeing your creations. Hopefully I’ll be more on it in September!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Cooking, General chit chat, The great outdoors. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jam-packed

  1. Sandi says:

    HELLO!!!!! so glad to hear from you, I rather enjoyed coming along on your weekend for your mum and dad’s Ruby anniversary, what a beautiful country, oh so love UK countryside. That jam looks delicious and am envious, I used to make jam, I had an old Rayburn wood stove and would love standing there on a cold day stirring the jam or sauce, or making bread. What a lovely hubby buying you the ‘Jam jar’ how cute is that.
    xx Sandi

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , loved this post. as you’ve probably noticed I enjoy pictures of our stunning countryside.Sounded like a perfect family weekend .
    I’m so impressed with Berts thoughtful jar gift and fruit harvesting…your jam looked scrummy.
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

