Another unsavoury cake

Can you believe I was ‘commissioned’ to make another poo cake? Yes! It is true. One of the ladies I worked with liked the sound of it so much(!) that she asked me to make one to take into work with me. There was some relevance: there is a saying in my team, you may have heard of it – “you can’t polish a turd” – as in you can’t change the nature of things – if something is rubbish, then it’s rubbish and there’s nothing that can be done. Except that in my team we say – “you can’t polish a turd – but you can roll it in glitter” – ever the optimists! Anyway, hence the request for a glittery poo cake.

Ta daaah!

So, that was part of my weekend, baking and decorating the cake. The icing is a good one by the way – I’m not sure of the origins of it, I only have it scribbled down on a piece of paper – so I think it’s ok to share it with you:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Chocolate fudge icing

Ingredients:

  • 2oz butter
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder, sieved
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 5oz sieved icing sugar

Method:

  1. Melt the butter in a saucepan, add the cocoa, stir to blend and cook gently for 1 minute
  2. Stir in the milk and the icing sugar, take off the heat and mix thoroughly

You need to wait for the icing to cool a bit (stirring occassionally) before you can use it, so that it thickens, but it makes a great pouring icing. Also yummy as a sauce on ice cream etc.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Another part of the weekend was car hunting – and we found one! Yes, I’ve finally got a replacement for Letitia – I’m going to pick it up on Sunday, hooray! Well, half a hooray – I’m rather sad to see Aunt Letitia go…

We also went to the cinema this weekend. We don’t go too often, which means that when we do go it feels like a bit of treat! Anyway, we went and saw the last Harry Potter film. I loved it. I’m a big Harry fan.

Ooh we also pulled our first onion! Oh goodness it was a beauty. Alas it was out of the ground and into the pan before you could say ‘I’ll just get my camera’, but as there are a few more I’ll be sure to get a pic at some point.

And that was the weekend that was! Well, that and a bit of shopping, supermarket, ooh a haircut (nothing drastic – The Bert couldn’t even tell any difference. Neither could I if I’m honest), gym, BBQ… quite jam-packed actually.

I realise that I haven’t done any craft updates recently. I’ve not actually done much craft lately – crochet or other stuff. Not sure why. Perhaps I’ll pick up my hook again this week. In the meantime I’m enjoying seeing all your creations – and if I haven’t found you yet, please feel free to leave me a comment so that I can come and see what you’ve been up to!

Ooh before I go, you must take a look at my friend’s new website for her bespoke creations: Coconut Designs – she’s a very talented lady.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, General chit chat, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another unsavoury cake

  1. Mum says:

    Poo cake – ugh yuk! Actually it looks quite pretty decorated with glitter and the icing looks great. My icing always turns out wrong, either too runny or too thick to spread. I must have a go at your recipe.
    Love from Mum
    xx

  2. sandiart says:

    Hey Jones……you OK????? Missing you.
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

