Garden update

Good evening to you, and how has your week been? Mine? Well, it’s been a tad stressful.

Aunt Letitia (my car) is playing up again – in at the garage on Tuesday, ok Wednesday morning, niggly Wednesday night, train to work on Thursday, working from home today… it’s getting a bit ridiculous. So this weekend I’m going to try to sort it out and maybe get a new car. We’ve (I say we’ve, of course I mean The Bert) done a lot of research into what’s available, and I’ve booked to see a couple of options. It’s going to be tricky to know what’s good though, as everything is going to seem amazing in comparison to my old motor! Watch this space.

There was some good news though yesterday, as I finally received a cheque thing from the tax office refunding the tax I was owed! When I knew this money was coming my way, I had grand plans but I think it’s going to have to go towards Aunt Letitia’s replacement. Still, am pleased that I won’t have to dip too far into the house deposit fund especially as we went to view one earlier this week which I think has a lot of potential. The Bert has gone for a wander this evening to check out the neighbourhood. Eep! This could be exciting!

In other news, the garden is growing a treat. I took some photies so I could do a show and tell for you…

The flowers are bright and colourful: (although this photo of the blue pansies has highlighted to me that I need to get on the dead-heading!)

The first tiny little tomato is forming:

We’ve had enough french beans from our little plants for one dinner:

And we’ve also lifted the garlic, which was terribly exciting as we didn’t expect it to do nearly so well. But look! The Bert dug it carefully and we have five large bulbs. Brilliant!

I think it might soon be time to lift the onions as well. Yippeee!

This growing malarkey is good isn’t it? I am taking great pleasure in seeing things grow.

Before I forget, thank you for your kind comments on the muffins and the picture slide show. I was pleased with the slide show, I’ll definitely use it again. As for the muffins, already made another batch – half I gave to The Bert to take to work (I think they were a bit confused by the notion of a savoury muffin), and half for the freezer. Yum!

Have a good weekend lovelies!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Garden, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garden update

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , very exciting times for you at the moment :0) Hope the car and house hunting go well.
    Love your garden pictures….the garlic looks amazing !
    Jacquie x

  2. sandiart says:

    I was very blessed that my mum had come into an inheritance and she gave me enough money to buy a new car, so my daughter got my ‘old’ one (ten years old) I didn’t like her car, I felt it wasn’t safe. I hope you can find a good little car that is not too expensive.
    Love the flowers and your veggies..wow. I got out into the garden last week and did some overdue cutting back and weeding, looks so much neater now.
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

