Cheese and spinach muffins

The weekend just gone was all about the savoury muffin. I have been meaning to try the recipe for a long time – it’s one from The Children’s Baking Book (no children in this house, but I rather like the photo step-by-step and the easy instructions! I imagine that if you had children then it would be even better).

Anyway, Saturday breakfast I decided was in need of a savoury muffin, so I made a batch first thing. And they did not disappoint! The recipe was for cheese and courgette muffins, but it said you could replace the courgette with spinach, so as I had some in the fridge, that is what I did. Yummy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a good start to the weekend. My friend Fi who I haven’t seen in yonks came to visit on Saturday, and then The Bert and I had a little shopping jaunt on Sunday. Aunt Letitia (my car) took a turn for the worse on Sunday – she has been in the garage today, so I’m hoping that she’ll be on better form tomorrow. But sadly I think she is on her last legs, so I’m hunting out a new (new-to-me) wagon – nothing flash, but something reliable would be nice.

I hope your week is going well. Apologies for being a bit quiet in blogland recently, I’m looking forward to catching up on everything that has been going on.

Jones x

PS. I’m trying out the slideshow picture function – what do you think?

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Cooking, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cheese and spinach muffins

  1. Mum says:

    Well done for mastering the slideshow function. The muffins look good. I must say that I’ve never tried savoury muffins. We have a glut of courgettes here and today I was looking for recipes that contained them. I feel a savoury muffin coming on.
    Love from Mum
    xx

    • Ooh yes, do make a savoury muffin – they are delicious! I have also heard that you can make a courgette cake – someone today even told me of a chocolate and courgette cake! Let me know what you end up making!
      Jones x

  2. Sandi says:

    These muffins look scrumptious and on a slideshow no less, that’s clever. It’s the weekend again, time goes so quickly.
    x Sandi

  3. Little Blue Mouse says:

    Love the slideshow, very hi-tec!
    Hope Aunt Letitia is on the mend.

  4. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (8/52) | The House of Jones

  5. Lucy@Attic24 says:

    That book containing that recipe is going straight in my Basket. They look utterly scrumptious x

  6. Lucy@Attic24 says:

    HOLY CRAP!!! have you SEEN the price of that book on Amazon??????????
    It’s now sadly staying out of my basket :o(

    • I just can’t believe it’s sooooo expensive! I bought it from the book people, several years ago now, but it was only about £4. It’s a lovely book, but it’s certainly not £30 of lovely! I am in shock!

Leave a Reply

