Cinnamon, spice and all things nice

We’ve had such rotten weather here in Gloucestershire recently – it’s been more like autumn than high summer. So, if like me you’re in need of some warming fodder then you just must get your hands on this book: Cinnamon, spice & warm apple pie.

It is amazing! I spotted it in a shop a little while back – I didn’t buy it as it felt like the wrong time of year to be buying a book which has ‘comforting baked fruit desserts for chilly days’ on the front cover. But then I thought, oh why wait! and boom I ordered it! Arrived last week, yippeee!

I’ve not had the occasion to make anything yet, but the recipes sound delicious. It’s split into sections:

  • crumbles & streusels
  • cobblers & more
  • bettys & crisps
  • clafoutis, slumps & puddings
  • pies, tarts & strudels
  • dessert cakes

I’ve never even heard of a ‘slump’ before but mmm they look tasty! The photos are mouth-watering and it’s been written in a really lovely way, and (this may sound weird) uses such an appealing font! You’ll see what I mean if you ‘look inside’ on amazon. I hope the puds taste as good as they look and sound.

Just realised that was a bit of a book review, albeit a brief one – not had to do one of those since school!

In other news, my KitchenAid cook book arrived today – I got it free for sending back the guarantee on the mixer, how good is that? Had a quick flick through and it looks fab. I am going to have to get another shelf for them at this rate – cookery books everywhere! Brrrrilliant!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Cooking, General chit chat, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cinnamon, spice and all things nice

  1. louise says:

    That sounds great – a nice cosy book, fully of cosy warm things. I’ve gone off buying books like that though as my man is wheat intolerant so can’t have regular recipes using flour 😦
    I haven’t yet mastered making tasty gluten free treats!

  2. sandiart says:

    That looks delicious, love Apple Pie and custard and cream, I am now craving it!!
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

