The Bert’s birthday in Bath

I have been rather delayed with writing this. There have been a few things going on, including a surprise visit home the weekend before last, a visit from The Bert’s mum this weekend, plus a busy time at work.

But the weekend before all those weekends was The Bert’s birthday, and I cannot let this go by without a little mention.

I took him on a jaunt to Bath for the day. I’ve been to Bath a couple of times, but wasn’t sure that The Bert had ever been, and as it’s not too long a drive from The House of Jones I thought it would be good spot for some birthday adventuring.

We took the park & ride into the city centre. I forgot how much I like travelling on a bus. I’m not sure I’d enjoy it so much if I had to do it every day, but on the odd occasion I do enjoy it.

We arrived at lunch time and not wanting to spend too much time eating while the shops were open, we just bought sandwiches and ate them on the go. There were lots of shops to pop into, the usual high street type shops and some other independent ones and some chain-type shops that we’d not seen before.

So, potter we did and a spot of buying, shamefully we didn’t go to the Royal Baths, although we did marvel at the building from the outside, and then like a moth to a flame I was drawn to a shop: The Makery Emporium.

I could tell just from the window display that this was my kind of shop and I was in through the door before The Bert knew what had happened. Fortunately he is now used to my bee-lining into crafty shops (who can forget “Hobbycraft! I’ve never been to a Hobbycraft!” zoooom!). And ohh The Makery Emporium was so lovely! A crafters delight: fabric, buttons, beads, books, little kits of inspiration bits and bobs, and all sorts! Too much to mention. With kind permission from the lovely lady, I took a few snaps for you, just so you can see what I got so excited about…

It was difficult but I was very restrained and came away with just one small purchase – a little square of fabric:

I’m not sure what I’ll do with it, but I had to rescue it and bring it home with me. Gorgeous isn’t it?

The Bert was very patient while this was going on, so I treated him to some cake which we ate down by the river, and in return I was good in the fishing shop.

It was a lovely day, finished with some yummy dinner, before last bus back to the parking and back home!

The day out wasn’t on the actual birthday but we had a lovely time on the day itself – I even made him a special birthday cake. I kind of regret making it now – it had seemed like such a funny idea, but I actually felt a bit embarrassed when it came to the unveiling. Luckily only The Bert and I were present. If you are a regular visitor here, you may have an idea…

Yes, I made a poo cake, using the top of the giant cupcake mould. Nothing quite says Happy Birthday like a poo cake?! There was a bit of relevance behind the cake – I’m not sure he’ll appreciate the explanation, but he’s brought it on himself as sometimes when I ask what he fancies for dinner, if he wants to be really awkward he’ll say “poo in a box.” So that is what he got!

Anyway, it was a lovely birthday weekend, and he loved his presents and although he may not have shown it at first, I think the poo cake went down a treat too!

Have you ever made something and then wondered if it was a good idea?!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Birthday, Craft, Day trips, General chit chat, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bert’s birthday in Bath

  1. sandiart says:

    Thank you for the tour of Bath, as close as I will get for a while, I’m saving!!!
    Poo in a box, well I guess it had to happen, may I say it does look delicious in all its glory. An Aussie saying is ‘S–t on toast’ wonder what people would do if they actually got that served up to them!!
    x Sandi

  2. Emma Butler says:

    LOVING the poo cake! When I saw the cake tin I did wonder how long it would be before you came up with this idea! Happy belated birthday to the Bert xx

Leave a Reply

