Garden therapy

Thank you for your lovely comments on my previous post. It’s been a bit of a rubbish week, but like you said, these things are part of life, and life must go on.

I’ve almost shaken the stinking cold now, still got a bit of a cough and my voice is a bit gravelly but I’m back at work and feeling much better.

I’m still terribly sad following last week’s news, but I have found that spending some time in the garden – potting things on and checking what has been happening – has given me something else to focus on. It’s been quite therapeutic really.

The potatoes have gone bananas – they’ve really shot up in recent weeks, and have started flowering now, rather pretty, dainty, purple flowers:

The onions and garlic are also doing well – it’s going to be a surprise what we pull out of these pots as we can’t actually remember what we planted in which and I don’t seem to be able to distinguish between the green growth.

The tomato plants my mum (not to be confused with ‘Mum’ who commented on my last post) have also been planted out, and the garden canes wait expectedly for growth. I think the toms are Gardener’s Delight, I can’t remember.

The french beans have also been planted on. We grew runner beans a couple of years ago, but while I enjoy the flavour, french beans are far more versatile and you only need a few for a meal, so they are the beans of choice as far as growing goes.

My sweet peas have also finally made it out and into a tub. I should have planted them out weeks ago – I hope they still have time to grow, and can find some space in amongst the mess of what is left from the spring tub.

And finally, our beloved Begonia has also been given its own special pot. I can’t wait until this one gets flowering. It has beautiful big, multi-layer pink flowers (you may remember from the bottom of this post).

So things are happening, and I’m trying to look forward. Thank you again for your kind words and support lovelies, I am always really touched when people stop to comment, so thank you. A lot.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Garden, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Garden therapy

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , glad to hear you are feeling a bit better. That beginia is a stunner …a I had a look at the link…no wonder you love it .
    Your potatoes are further on than mine …we have rather neglected the veg patch this year .
    Jacquie x

  2. Sandi says:

    Getting your hands into dirt is good and bare feet even better for your soul. Your vegies are great, I only grew tomatoes and beans this year, but I do have a pot of herbs too. I bought some Sweet Pea seedlings and am surprised to see one is flowering, didn’t think it would as it is winter here now. Glad you are over the worst of your cold, it’ doesn’t seem right when the weather is nice. We are going through a very cold snap at the moment, thank goodness for heating and crochet to keep me warm.
    x Sandi

  3. Mum says:

    Hi, I think your garlic is to the left in your picture. If you poke around the top of the soil you should be able to feel or see the head of garlic. Good luck with all your produce.
    Love from Mum
    xx

Leave a Reply

