Things look rosy

Firstly a big Thank You for the lovely comments about my Baby Girl Blanket, so nice of you to bob on by and take the time to comment! Still no sign of the little baby girl I made it for though – due date today, but no news just yet!

As for today’s show and tell, well, I popped into the garden when I got back from work tonight, and I was more than delighted to see the rose in bloom! You can tell I haven’t been in the garden for a while – it’s quite far advanced in its blooming. Oopsie! The Bert is the gardener in our house – I’m excited at the planting/harvesting time, but I confess it is The Bert who does the daily water and plant whispering!

Anyway, the rose is looking so gorgeous, I thought we might indulge in a few photos.

Just beautiful. I have no idea what type of rose it is – it’s one of the few plants that was already here in the prison garden. That and the lovely honeysuckle you can glimpse on the left in the picture above.

Ahhh….!

The rosy blooms reminded me that I don’t think I ever shared with you the rosy brooch I made for my friend as part of her Christmas present:

As you can see it was rather large (50p for scale!), but that might be because I was using a chunky wool – Sirdar Click Chunky in Wild Berry (the leaves were just in a cheapo wool). If you’d like to have a go, then you’ll find the pattern here. I didn’t change a single thing! I did however add a brooch pin to the back, and the button decoration for the middle. I had to add a big round bead as a ‘spacer’ to raise the level for the buttons. I think it worked a treat!

I hope things are looking rosy where you are today,

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things look rosy

  1. louise says:

    I love the brooch – great colours and I like the chunky wool!

  2. louise says:

    Thank you for your comment 🙂

    I don’t normally get through so many books in such a short time! It is something I have to make time for too, it’s so easy to get caught up in other things – sometimes I even put ‘read’ on my list of jobs to do then I remember to make time for it!

    Hot blackcurrant is doing the job – I am starting to feel better!

  3. Little Blue Mouse says:

    I just popped over from Bunny Mummy and have to say that the rose brooch is lovely.

  4. sandiart says:

    What a lovely rose, does it have a nice scent?? Your brooch is pretty too, I made a couple for my mum, but they didn’t turn out like that.
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

