Baby girl blanket

Hello, hello! Apologies for the delay in writing this, time has slipped away from me a bit this week.

Anyway, it is with much excitement that I can finally show you the crochet blanket I have been working on the last couple of months. I’ve wanted to… oh it’s been terribly hard not to sneak a picture of my progress, but I wanted to do a grand unveiling because that is what this blanket deserves!

You might remember me talking here about the wool for this project. I knew exactly the shades that I wanted, and was lucky enough to find wool in exactly those colours! (helped by the lovely lady in the wool shop). I knew that my friend wouldn’t want a really girly pink blanket, and that I wouldn’t particularly enjoy working girly pink colours. The look I wanted was more ‘vintage’, hence the claret, rose and cream.

I also knew exactly which pattern I wanted to use for the blanket – I had been lusting over it at Attic24 – it had to be a granny stripe blanket (you can find the pattern here). I found that my work on this came in fits and bursts – really intensive “I just can’t stop crocheting” moments, to weeks when I barely gave the blanket a second thought (ok, slight lie, I still thought about it, I just didn’t work on it). I put a lot of time and effort into the baby girl blanket, but it was definitely worth it!

So, are you ready for it? Ready to see Baby Girl Blanket in all it’s blankety goodness? Ok then! Drum roll… ta daaaaah!

Ohhh I am so so pleased with how it turned out! I love everything about it, the colours:

…the stripes:

…the way it looks folded:

…and crumpled:

And I also love The Edge: 

Remember all the drama I had deciding what to do for the edge? Because it had to be Just Right? Well, I got there in the end! I tried lots of different stitch combos before finally settling on this which I think is P E R F E C T !

It comprises:

  • 1 row granny stripe treble clusters in cream, then swapping to rose for:
  • 1 row double crochet
  • 1 row half trebles (back loop only*)
  • 1 row double crochet (back loop only)
  • 1 row scallop edge – I didn’t follow a stitch pattern for this, I just made it up: *dc, skip 2 stitches, 5 tr in next stitch, skip next 2 stitches* – repeat!

*back loop only gives the lined effect in the edge

The final blanket measured ~34″ x 25″ (starting chain of 135), used just over 1 x 100g ball of each colour (DK Life) in 68 rows of granny stripe (not including the border). I can’t wait to see my friend’s soon-to-be-born baby girl all wrapped up in it!

So there we have it. My second ever blanket! And a very fine blanket it was too.

Jones x

Edited to add: Baby girl arrived safe and sound on 4th June 2011. She is adorable!

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baby girl blanket

  1. Sarah says:

    Just popped over from attic 24 to look at your blanket. I really like the way you have done the border. You must be very proud of it.

  2. Christine says:

    What a beautiful blanket! Your friend will be thrilled. The colors go together beautifully and the edge is just perfect (thanks for the pattern for that!).

  3. Sandi says:

    I am loving this little blanket, the colors really appeal to me. I have just ordered a few more Stylecraft colors it is the best acrylic I have ever touched or used, so soft, not squeeky and feels like wool when crocheting.
    The little bub will be so snuggly in this.
    x Sandi

  4. Christine R says:

    Wow! I too have popped over from Attic 24, what a great job on the blanket! The colours are just gorgeous! A granny stripe is next on my list to do :0)

  5. Pingback: Things look rosy | The House of Jones

  6. Pingback: Jam-packed | The House of Jones

  7. Pingback: Baby blanket plans: Vintage Blue | The House of Jones

  8. Pingback: Elmer-Inspired Granny Patchwork Baby Blanket: The big reveal | The House of Jones

  9. Pingback: Baby boy granny patchwork blanket – ta dah! | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

