A visit to Lacock

Hello! Hope you are having a good weekend, whatever you are up to. We’ve had quite a busy time so far, so I’m thoroughly enjoying a relaxing Sunday afternoon at home while The Bert is out playing cricket.

What’s been keeping us busy? Well, some jobs around town, supermarket shopping for the week, house viewings (we’re thinking about taking that scary step and buying, eek!), small spot of crochet, present wrapping and a little jaunt yesterday to Lacock (pronounced lay-cock), which is a small village just south of Chippenham in Wiltshire. I didn’t think you’d want to hear about the boring general weekend activities, but perhaps you might like to see about the day trip to Lacock?

Well, The Bert and I went there to meet up with some friends for lunch: there was some logic in picking this little village – it’s about halfway between where we both live – plus I knew about a pub that does rather good food! Perfect!

 

Oh what a lovely afternoon! The village is just lovely. Really quaint and picturesque – quintessentially English you might say! The village, plus Lacock Abbey and the Fox Talbot Museum is owned by the National Trust, and it has been the setting for several films (e.g. Emma, The Other Boleyn Girl) and tv dramas (e.g. Pride & Prejudice, Cranford) over the years. You can really see why – if you removed all the cars and modern giveaways, you’d be transported to quite a different time.

 

Anyway, we went into the Abbey, such a grand building and set in beautiful countryside:

    

The cloisters, inside the Abbey, might look familiar to you…

…as they were used in the first two Harry Potter films! Numerous scenes were shot in Lacock Abbey for the interior of Hogwarts and the village was also used in the sixth film.

After we’d looked around the cloisters, we went into the house. I’m not very good in stately homes, I tire easily of looking at old paintings and tapestries etc, in fact I frequently pick up a copy of the children’s quiz or ‘I spy’ activity to maintain my interest!! However, I quite enjoyed Lacock – and I loved this ‘Household Wants Indicator’ which was on display in the kitchen (the only room I ever really enjoy looking around!). I think every house should have one – would make shopping lists far more fun!

 

It was nice actually to have a little day trip and explore somewhere new. And lovely to meet up with our friends – the recipients of my second crochet blanket! They are expecting a little girl a week tomorrow, which is terribly exciting! I know you’ll be keen to see the blanket, so I’m going to post about it separately with lots of photos and crochet chatter. Watch this space…

For now, I’m going to cart myself off to the gym. I managed to put on half a stone over my birthday and Easter and am finding it terribly hard to shift!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in crochet, Day trips, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A visit to Lacock

  1. Sandi says:

    My idea of heaven would be to live in a little English village with a horse, a veggie patch some chickens, gorgeous flower garden, a cat, a lovely man, my kids, great friends, an open fire, crochet, knitting and books….I think that just about covers it.
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

