Time to relax

Hello lovelies! You join me here in The House of Jones, having a little sit down and a hot chocolate. The Bert is out fishing – I came home from town to find a pretty clear indication on the stairs:

It’s been rather hectic since my birthday – we spent just over a week visiting friends and family around the country – so I must say I’m enjoying having the house to myself to watch Come Dine with Me and flick through the magazines I naughtily bought myself the other day.

Ohhh they are filled with such scrummy looking recipes! I occasionally buy Easy Cook magazine for the simple supper ideas, but I’ve never purchased delicious magazine before – oh oh ohhhh it is delicious! I bought it because I was seduced by the victoria sponge on the front cover, and the promise of an article on home baking. Regular readers of my witterings will know that I love baking, but I am particularly obsessed by it at the moment as one of my birthday presents was a Kitchen Aid mixer in candy apple red. Lucky Jones! More than lucky – I was completely spoilt to receive this amazing bit of kitchen kit. Shall we take a little look at it?

Beautiful! Such a sexy bit of kitchen equipment! As well as a big balloon whisk, it also comes with a dough hook and flat paddle attachments, plus a guard to prevent flour/icing sugar flying everywhere while in mixing mode. I am in L O V E with it! I haven’t used it just yet, but I have treated myself to a posh spatula to use with it when I do – I didn’t think it would be fitting to use my old, slightly gross spatula that I bought for 10p in Ikea!

If only I’d had this mixer before I made the giant cupcake – the monster amount of mixture would have been a breeze!

Although I am really excited by cakes and baking and very tempted by all the recipes in the magazines, I do need a little break after all the birthday cake! Don’t worry – I’ll be sure to let you know when I use the mixer – eek, can’t wait!

Anyway, I’m sure I had something else to tell you about… ah yes, alliums! I really love alliums – the big purple globe flower is really lovely isn’t it. Sadly, the one in my garden didn’t achieve much this year – I think the unearthing from our old house has affected it slightly. However, I’m getting my fill of alliums every day, as the gardens outside work are filled with them!

Just lovely! It is a joy to see them every day.

Well, that’s it from me for now – I’ve got lots more to tell, and I still need to show you some of my other birthday prezzies, but it’ll have to wait until another day – The Bert has just got home from fishing with this fella:

No prizes for guessing what’s for dinner tonight!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Birthday, Cooking, General chit chat, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time to relax

  1. Christine says:

    I know just how you feel about the Kitchen Aid mixer! I have one too, love to use it and just looking at it in my kitchen makes me hugely happy!! The way it whips up egg whites is amazing. Have fun with it, what a wonderful birthday present.
    Really enjoy your blog!

  2. Jacquie says:

    Oh those Aliums are stunning . Mine have been in about 4 years now and I’ve only got 3 flowers . I should buy some more as they obvoiusly last well but look a little lonely:0)
    Thankyou for your comments , I did make the apple , I just crocheted over a wooden apple I had and used felt for the stalk.
    I’m always suprised you don’t get more comments as your blog is lovely . Do you comment on many blogs yourself ??
    Jacquie x

  3. sandiart says:

    Oh how much I lust for a Kitchen Maid, however it is way, way beyond my meagre budget…one day. Beautiful flowers, what a glorious color and that fish, I bet you enjoyed every morsel. I used to buy Delicious all the time years ago, it is a beautiful magazine.
    Enjoy your week.
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

