Birthday celebrations

Hello! Thank you for my birthday messages – I had a fabulous day! Actually, it’s been a wonderful week – busy (hence only getting round to telling you about it now), but brilliant!

So, I think I left you on birthday eve, hanging in suspense as to how the Giant Cupcake would turn out…

…well, thankfully it worked a TREAT! After card opening on birthday morning, I popped along to the cake shop in town to get some roll out icing for the base – and a few handy tips from the nice lady as to how best to do it. Then it was back home to decorate. So the roll out icing was for the base, and then I made a buttercream for the swirly top. And, are you ready for it…. ta daaaaaaaah!

Oh, I was so happy with it! The colour wasn’t amazing (I had wanted a pale pink but because I’d used yellow butter rather than an unsalted whitish one like Lurpak it was hard to get a true colour) but I honestly didn’t care because giant cupcake had turned out better than I could ever have imagined! And it wasn’t actually too hard either. The Bert found me a video on this page which will help if you ever want to try to make your own. Actually we followed the recipe they gave too (made way too much! I reckon scaling quantities down to 6 eggs etc would be the right amount).

People were so kind about the cake – although they couldn’t quite believe that it was entirely edible – some thought that the ‘case’ at the bottom was ceramic and it was only when we cut into it that they fully realised!

The whole birthday table spread looked fab (if I do say so myself!):

My sister and Bart had brought me the gorgeous tulips all the way from Amsterdam, they were absolutely stunning and this is only half of them! I also got to use all my cake stands and pretty nibble bowls etc. Happy Jones!

It was a super afternoon. Lots of friends and my family came from all over the country for an afternoon in the sunshine. It was almost too hot to sit outside! The garden looked lovely – we decorated it with some cheap colourful bunting I picked up in the morning (forgot to take a photo, oops), and the flowers were all shining in the sun.

Once the sun was starting to go from the garden, we headed to a little Italian place in town for dinner, and then ended the night in a small bar. It has been ages since I’ve been out properly, and as I supped my 2 for 1 cocktail (dangerous!), I thought that I really should do it more often!

Truly it was a lovely day: sun was shining, surrounded by my closest friends and family and my amazing fella, The Bert, and to top it off everyone was so generous with their gifts! I really was very spoilt – jewellery, things for the kitchen, craft related presents… so thoughtful! Perhaps I’ll let you see some of them another day…

For now, I think I’d better get myself off to the gym to try and work off all the cake and easter eggs! Start my 30s as I mean to go on and all that… the gym is something I do more out of necessity rather than genuine enjoyment, but do it I must!

I hope you all enjoyed the long Easter weekend. See you soon for present chatter!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in baking, Birthday, Cooking, cupcakes, Home, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday celebrations

  1. louise says:

    Hello and a belated happy birthday!

    I only found your blog last week but have enjoyed having a read!

    The spread did look great and the giant cupcake is amazing! I look forward to reading future posts!

    Louise (a new follower!)

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , your cake turned out lovely !!! The different types of icing for each part work so well and the birthday spread looks totally yummy .
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

