I am a baking machine

Well hello! A very good evening to you. I hope that you have had an enjoyable Good Friday and made the most of the sunshine! I am very disappointed to have missed out on Good Friday fish pie this year… it is tradition in our family, and my mum’s fish pie is amazing! Alas with the move to Gloucestershire, I’m not in popping in distance this year and there has been no time for me to make my own fish pie because I am far too busy baking. I am a baking machine!

The reason being it’s my birthday tomorrow and I am having a little party. It’s a big birthday – the big 30. For a long time I wasn’t sure this was something worth celebrating, but I have come around to the idea, and so several of my friends and family will be gathering from near and far at The House of Jones tomorrow afternoon for cake and the like. Exciting!

Most exciting, is that I am finally using my Giant Cupcake Tin – which was actually a birthday present from The Bert last year, and I’m ashamed to say this is it’s first outing.

The quantity of cake mixture required was rather alarming, involving no less than 8 eggs. Crikey! In actual fact, it was a little bit too much, but I’ll use the rest to make some little fairy cakes.

We’ve just taken it out of the oven, and turned it out from the tin, and it seems to have worked! Relief! Although it does look like a comedy turd at this point… I’m hoping icing will help.

I say ‘we’ took it out of the oven because I needed The Bert’s large-cake expertise to ensure that it was cooked. The last 2 years, The Bert has shown extraordinary talent in the large-cake baking department, each year making me a special surprise cake:

29th birthday:

28th birthday:

I think you will agree, they are tremendous!

We’re not icing Giant Cupcake until tomorrow morning, making sure it fully cools over night. I shall be doing some icing tonight though – in addition to the Giant Cupcake, I’ve also made flapjacks and a batch of chocolate cup cakes which need finishing off with chocolate icing swirls. YUM!

Right best be off – lots to do before the birthday – eek! Next time you hear from me I will be in my thirties… how scary does that sound!

Ooh, almost forgot with all the birthday chatter and preparations – have a fabulous Easter my lovelies!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Birthday, Cooking, cupcakes, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am a baking machine

  1. sandiart says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUUUUUUU, wishing you a wonderful 30th. Oh to be 30 again. That cake is amazing and I can’t wait to see it decorated. Your Bert is a bit of a dab hand at cakes, I’m afraid I’m not much in that dept. Happy Easter to you also.
    x Sandi

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , Happy Birthday to you !!!! Hope you have an amazing day .
    Those cakes from previous years are totally gorgeous , my boys have just been admiring them …hope they don’t think I could make something half as good .
    Can’t wait to see the comedy turd transformed :0)
    Jacquie x

  3. Pingback: Time to relax | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

