I kid you not!

Perhaps that should be or-chid you not?! Yes, exciting times, my orchid is sending out another flower shoot!

As I’ve said before, this flower was practically beyond the grave – I bought it with two beautiful flower stems about 2 years ago, but when those flowers had dropped, nothing else happened. Until last year, when it sent out a flower shoot: (pic from 12 November, 2010)

and then the flower buds came: (pic from 21 January, 2011)

and then I moved it and most of the buds fell off (I have since found out you should never move an orchid while in bud), except two – one of which flowered:

I then cut the shoot back to three nodes before the flower, just before it totally wilted, and a few weeks later, I find this little side shoot: (pic: 19th April, 2011)

Amazing! I really am very chuffed.

I am beginning to think I might be a bit green-fingered, as the sweet pea seeds which I planted the other week have also transformed into little seedlings: (left – 10th April; right: 19th April)

  

Nature really is rather lovely isn’t it?

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in General chit chat, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I kid you not!

  1. sandiart says:

    Wow, you have better luck than me, my son gave me an orchid just like that and it had it’s original flower, I cut it off (too short) and it never flowered again and eventually died, probably from shock!! I have another different kind of tiny orchid and it has never flowered, BUT I do have a big common orchid that has a flower stem on it, yay!! I love sweet peas, just waiting for some to flower here.
    x Sandi

Leave a Reply

