Weekend in the sun

Hello! Thanks for popping by, it’s lovely to see you.

Well, I don’t know about where you are in the world, but here in Gloucestershire it really has been glorious weather all weekend! Aside from popping into town and a small walk in the park, we haven’t really done a lot, except enjoy the weather and potter in the garden. It’s been bliss. And my flip flops came out of winter hibernation. H O O R A Y ! I just love flip flops! These are my current favourite pair:

I love them! Great colours. Speaking of which, isn’t this fabric lovely?

Not the start of another project, but the seat to The Bert’s deckchair…

…which is where I spent most of yesterday afternoon, soaking up the sun. I get quite bored sitting in the sun usually, but the novelty of the first warm weekend and I book I’ve been meaning to read for ages, meant that I really was rather contented lazing the afternoon away.

Today I have been more engaged in the garden. I think I’ve said before that ‘garden’ is perhaps a generous word for the small patio that we have – but we have done our best with pots etc to turn it from prison yard to a nice spot to sit out in. The Bert spent a lot of time yesterday weeding and emptying out pots of plants which didn’t survive the winter, which meant that we could get planting and rearranging today.

Just pansies at this stage, but they are bringing such lovely colour to the garden. With the pansies and all the spring flowers and a spot of rearranging, it’s not looking too bad out there!

I also planted my sweet peas today. The Bert gave me this lovely little kit for Christmas:

It came with everything I needed: a coconut husk starter plant pot, a coconut husk compost disk (which expanded when you put water on it), the sweet pea seeds, and a plant marker (aka lolly stick!). The seeds were a lot bigger than I imagined they would be – I’ve not grown sweet peas from seed before, I’ve previously bought little seedlings. Anyway, I hope they work, I’ll keep you posted.

So there we go, the end of a lovely weekend in the sun.

I hope that you’ve had good weather wherever you are, and that you’ve been able to get out and enjoy it!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Garden, General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend in the sun

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , your little garden is looking lovely and you’ve taken some stunning photos of it .
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

