Crafts, cookery and celebrations

What a week! Such a lot has happened since my post last weekend…

It all started on Monday with a JOB OFFER! As you may or may not know, I left my old job when we moved to Gloucestershire, from Surrey, last summer. The last 9 months have not been the easiest: I didn’t work at all for 6 months, and for the last 3 months I have been doing an un-paid internship, 4 days a week. It has not been the best time to be out of work, and every unsuccessful application has been a knock to my confidence. I have felt pretty low at times if I’m honest and if I hadn’t taken up crafts again, learnt crochet and started blogging, I probably would have gone seriously mad! I so enjoy writing this blog, and your comments on my posts have played a big part in keeping me sane – they have been so encouraging, and it has brought a smile to my face to think people have read my little musings and taken the time to say hello – I really do appreciate it. 

Anyway, it is a H U G E relief to finally have a paid position on the horizon, and at the organisation I am currently volunteering with. Needless to say we celebrated on Monday night! The bubbles in the bath from last Sunday night turned into bubbles in the glass on Monday… oh and I’ll still be blogging, you don’t need to worry about the job getting in the way of that!

The rest of the week has been filled with visitors! The Bert’s dad came to stay Tuesday to Thursday, his first visit to see us here (as he lives abroad), which was lovely. We were even treated to a very tasty dinner out on Wednesday night. Bert The Elder had definitely earned his supper as he’d been out walking in the day, taking in the Cotswold countryside, for almost 6 hours!

Then on Friday, my dear friend Emsie and her fella, Parky, came to stay. The House of Jones was filled with laughter, it was such a fun couple of days.

I did a spot of cooking for Friday night: a chicken and leek pie… (this is basically the recipe I followed, although the one I made used 600g cooked chicken, none of that faffing around with chicken and celery etc!)

…followed by pavlova:

My first attempt at making one, and it turned out pretty well! (Thanks to my mum for the recipe and manning the Pavlova Question Hotline)

On Saturday, I received a delivery… this B E A U T I F U L  bouquet of flowers, from my sister and her fella, Bart, to send me congratulations on the new job.

Such a lovely surprise, and the flowers are beautiful: yellow roses, irises, heavily scented freesias and lots of other pretty flowers I don’t know the names of.

And the day continued on a high – we (Emsie and me) managed to convince our fellas to join us at a pottery cafe, spending over 2 hours focused on our creations. At least 30 minutes of that time was spent choosing what to paint – we were not particularly decisive, but thankfully the lady was very patient!

There was some pretty serious concentration efforts from all of us, it was funny to see 4 grown adults taking so much care over painting their pottery pieces! Anyway, here are our efforts pre-kiln (I’ll get to collect the finished pieces in a week – can’t wait!):

Emsie’s very pretty, Cath Kidston inspired, oil drizzler:

The Bert’s yellow spotted drizzler: (I love this photo with the paints and brushes in the background)

And my Japanese cherry blossom nibble plate:

Parky took these pictures and forgot to get one of his own – he painted a lovely stripy mug with spots at the base. It was a most enjoyable outing, and we definitely deserved the hearty lunch that followed. I felt rather sad when they left to go home!

Today had a lazy start and then we ventured to the Big Town (aka Cheltenham) for a spot of shopping – not that we bought anything! I had meant to go out into the garden again today and take some photos for you – so much is happening, it is very exciting. I’ll have to show you another time…

Anyway, that was the week that was! Like I said – what a week! And it’s ending fireside. It’ll probably be the last fire of the winter, and I’m so enjoying the warmth and gentle glow as I enjoy a cheeky hot chocolate.

Bliss…

Jones x

Almost as soon as I finished writing this, I knocked over the wretched hot chocolate – it went everywhere! Drat and double drat!

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in Cooking, Craft, General chit chat, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crafts, cookery and celebrations

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Wow! It’s like a window on to a world I wished I lived in. From the job (congratulations!!!) to the champagne, to the beautiful pie, to the crockery to the steaming mug of hot chocolate in front of the cosy fire. Thank god you knocked the hot chocolate over otherwise I may have had to cry with the perfectness of it all…
    x

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones …CONGRATULATIONS !!!!!!!!!! So exciting .
    I love all the images in this post but I’m especially impressed with your pottery painting. Such a talented bunch,they are all lovely. Hope you show us what they look like after firing.
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

