Presents from a far-away land

Hello again!

Golly what a miserable day… I don’t know about where you are, but it’s been a wet old day in Gloucestershire today, only brightened up by the return of The Bert! 

The Bert arrived home today from a couple of weeks away with work in Cambodia and Laos. Oh, it has been a bit lonely in the The House of Jones the past few weeks. JB has tried to keep me entertained, and Coolio (I have not told you about him – he is our little fish) has also done his best, but they are pets and entertainment is therefore rather limited. Conversation doesn’t flow very well, for example. It’s a bit one way: I talk – they listen.

But The Bert is back! and he brought me some little presents! Hurrah! Would you like to see? Of course, silly question… The Bert is very good at presents, he always finds things that I like…

 

Firstly, isn’t the gift bag brilliant? It’s made from newspaper – The Cambodia Daily from Tuesday, December 7 2010 to be precise. Which means I get a bag, and some interesting stories from around the world (it is the International section): Venezuela’s Chavez Blames Floods on Capitalists; Murder Suspect Covers Tattoos During Trial; and a nice story on Forests (sadly not in full, story continued from page 25).

Ahh but what about what was in the bag…

 

…firstly, three knitted finger puppets!! I think the goat is my favourite, just for it’s randomness! Aren’t they sweet? And it was supporting a good cause, as they were made by women as part of a development project. I like that sort of thing. 

 

And secondly, this lovely mango lipbalm, which came in it’s own woven reed box. If only you could smell it, it is divine!

But that’s not all, as The Bert also brought me back this gorgeous silk scarf from Laos. The country is known for it’s beautiful silks, and this one is just L O V E L Y.

Aren’t I a lucky girl! Presents from a far-away land, and The Bert back at home.

I hope you’ve had a good day too.

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Presents from a far-away land

  1. How sweet! And I absolutely love the gift bag! I may have to steal that idea Hmmmm

  2. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , must have missed this post before. Your man is so thoughtful …love his choice of gifts .I think the finger puppets are my favourite.
    Jacquie x

Leave a Reply

