What a hoot!

You may remember me telling you a couple of weeks ago about my long wait for the amigurumi book from the library (patience is rewarded)… Given the short window of opportunity before my loan has to be returned, I have been busy making the component parts this week, and tonight finally assembled and completed my first ever amigurumi! Drum roll……. Ta dahhh!!

 

Ahhhh!! It was an obvious choice to start with an owl (I am a bit obsessed by them at the moment) and I must say I am rather chuffed with little Mr Owl and my first foray into crocheted toys. The instructions were fairly easy to follow, although I did have to reduce the pattern for the eyes (the original ones done to pattern were HUGE!), and I think you’ll agree that the finished thing does look pretty similar to the picture in the book which is rather encouraging!

 

Here he is next to my lovely tulips, just for an idea of scale – he is pretty tiny, only about 7cm tall! Ooh, and if you look closely at the photo you can also see that my orchid not only has a flower shoot now, but flower buds too! It’s all very exciting – I had pretty much given up on the orchid…

 

The Bert has decided that Mr Owl should be called Simon Owl (perhaps because of his resemblance to the flat-headed, high-waisted music mogul?!)… so here is Simon next to the hyacinths with their newly crocheted plant pot jacket (thanks to Jacquie for the inspiration!).

He looks rather alarmed, doesn’t he! (probably cos I sewed his eyes on in a funny place!)

Anyway, I feel very encouraged that my first attempt at amigurumi wasn’t a complete disaster, so watch this space for more crocheted critters soon!

Jones x

About thehouseofjones

Hello! Thanks for visiting, it's lovely to see you! I'm Jones, I'm 31, and I live with my husband (The Bert) and chinchilla (JB) in Gloucestershire. When I'm not at work I love crochet, sewing, cooking, baking, taking photos and dabbling in a bit of gardening and grow-your-own, and this is what I write about mainly. That and the general chit chat of life. So, take a look around, comment if you'd like, just make yourself feel at home really!
This entry was posted in amigurumi, crochet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a hoot!

  1. Jacquie says:

    Hi Jones , I love Simon , yes he does look rather suprised but that just makes him even cuter .
    Your plant pot jacket looks great too , thanks for linking.
    Have a great weekend.
    Jacquie x

  2. Pingback: 52 weeks of happy (16/52) | The House of Jones

Leave a Reply

